Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Reviews of Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton

Stealing Mona Lisa

A Mystery

by Carson Morton

Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton X
Stealing Mona Lisa by Carson Morton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Aug 2011, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2012, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Rigby
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

What happens when you mix a Parisian street orphan, a hot-tempered Spanish forger, a beautiful American pickpocket, an unloved wife, and one priceless painting?

The charming Eduardo de Valfierno makes a very respectable living in Argentina fleecing the nouveau rich - they pay him to steal valuable pieces of art, and Valfierno sells them flawless forgeries instead. But when Eduardo meets the beautiful Mrs. Hart on his latest con, he takes a risk that forces him back to the city he loved and left behind - Paris. There he assembles his team of con artists for their final and most ambitious theft, one that will enable them to leave the game forever: The Mona Lisa.

But when a member of the team turns up missing, and Mr. Hart shows up in Paris, Valfierno and his crew must stay one step ahead of a relentless police inspector, endure a devastating flood, and conquer their own doubts to keep the priceless painting in play - and survive.

Based on the actual theft of the Mona Lisa from the Louvre in 1911, and published on the 100th anniversary of the crime, Stealing Mona Lisa is a sophisticated, engaging caper, complete with a richly imagined group of con artists and a historical mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Chapter 1

BUENOS AIRES - 1910

The marquis de Valerno stood tapping the knob handle of his gentleman's cane into the palm of his hand at the foot of the steps of the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes. His Panama hat shaded his face, and his spotless white suit helped to reflect the sharp South American sun, but he was still uncomfortably warm. He could have chosen to stand at the top of the steps in the shadow of the museum portico, but he always preferred greeting his clients at street level and then walking up with them to the entrance. There was something about ascending the steps together that fostered easy and ex­cited conversation, as if he and his client  were embarking on a momentous journey, a journey that would enrich both of them.

He checked his pocket watch: 4:28. Joshua Hart would be punc­tual. He had amassed his fortune by making sure his trains ran on time. He became one of the richest men in the world by filling those trains with passengers ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Stealing Mona Lisa - a debut novel that effectively draws from the public's fascination with the underworld - combines elements of both suave manipulation and occasional humor. Like several Hollywood plots, it also aligns with a criminal perspective from the beginning, states its motives plainly, and differs from traditional whodunits that are punctuated by red herrings and that rely on revelations...continued

Full Review (537 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Karen Rigby).

Media Reviews

New York Journal of Books
The visual writing is one of the novel's greatest strengths. Well-crafted, beautifully written, and engaging mystery. The pacing is superb... Carson Morton is, quite frankly, a masterful storyteller.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Like La Joconde, Carson's debut novel is set in an elegant frame - a newspaper reporter wrests the amazing story from a dying Valfierno - that still isn’t as finely crafted as what lies inside.

Library Journal
Starred Review. Great characters, a captivating tale, and vivid descriptions of old Paris make this debut a pleasurable read.

Booklist
Based on the actual theft of the Mona Lisa in 1911, Morton's first novel is a canny heist story with fine characterizations and skillful plotting, and it isn't hurt one bit by all the shimmering Parisian ambience. This entertaining caper may leave readers wondering about the authenticity of the art on the museum walls.

Publishers Weekly
Morton smoothly blends fact and fiction while evocatively exploring the era's seamy underbelly.

Author Blurb Frank W. Abagnale, New York Times bestselling author of Catch Me If You Can
An intriguing and captivating story about a great scam with a twist in the world of con artists, art forgery and mystery.

Author Blurb Noah Charney, author of The Art Thief and Stealing the Mystic Lamb
An evocative and engaging reworking of the famous Valfierno myth and the theft of the world's most famous painting. Morton writes beautifully and transports us to an Art Deco world of intriguing criminals.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

La Giaconde (The Mona Lisa)

An early 16th century oil painting by Leonardo da Vinci, The Mona Lisa is believed to have been created between 1503-1507 in Florence (though it is rumored that da Vinci did not actually complete it until 1519, just before his death in France). The painting is probably inspired by Lisa Gherardini, the wife of an Italian merchant. In 2005, a scholar at the University of Heidelberg, Dr. Armin Schlechter, discovered a manuscript containing a marginal note written by a Florentine chancellery official, Agostino Vespucci, which mentions Lisa - helping to confirm the subject's identity as well as the dates of the work.

The Mona Lisa Portraiture had existed prior to da Vinci's famous painting, but The Mona Lisa stands out for its masterful sense of ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Stealing Mona Lisa, try these:

  • The Last Mona Lisa jacket

    The Last Mona Lisa

    by Jonathan Santlofer

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    A gripping novel exploring the Mona Lisa's very real theft in 1911 and the present underbelly of the art world, The Last Mona Lisa is a suspenseful tale, tapping into our universal fascination with da Vinci's enigma, why people are driven to possess certain works of art, and our fascination with the authentic and the fake.

  • Leonardo da Vinci jacket

    Leonardo da Vinci

    by Walter Isaacson

    Published 2018

    About this book

    More by this author

    He was history's most creative genius. What secrets can he teach us? The author of the acclaimed bestsellers Steve Jobs, Einstein, and Benjamin Franklin brings Leonardo da Vinci to life in this exciting new biography.

We have 13 read-alikes for Stealing Mona Lisa, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Who Said...

When a true genius appears in the world, you may know him by this sign...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.