Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

A Novel

by Aimee Bender

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender X
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2010, 304 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Casey Cep
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The wondrous Aimee Bender conjures the lush and moving story of a girl whose magical gift is really a devastating curse.

On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents’ attention, bites into her mother’s homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother’s emotions in the cake. She discovers this gift to her horror, for her mother—her cheerful, good-with-crafts, can-do mother—tastes of despair and desperation. Suddenly, and for the rest of her life, food becomes a peril and a threat to Rose.

The curse her gift has bestowed is the secret knowledge all families keep hidden—her mother’s life outside the home, her father’s detachment, her brother’s clash with the world. Yet as Rose grows up she learns to harness her gift and becomes aware that there are secrets even her taste buds cannot discern.

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake is a luminous tale about the enormous difficulty of loving someone fully when you know too much about them. It is heartbreaking and funny, wise and sad, and confirms Aimee Bender’s place as “a writer who makes you grateful for the very existence of language” (San Francisco Chronicle).

Excerpt
The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

It happened for the first time on a Tuesday afternoon, a warm spring day in the flatlands near Hollywood, a light breeze moving east from the ocean and stirring the black- eyed pansy petals newly planted in our flower boxes. My mother was home, baking me a cake. When I tripped up the walkway, she opened the front door before I could knock. How about a practice round? she said, leaning past the door frame. She pulled me in for a hello hug, pressing me close to my favorite of her aprons, the worn cotton one trimmed in sketches of twinned red cherries.

On the kitchen counter, she’d set out the ingredients: Flour bag, sugar box, two brown eggs nestled in the grooves between tiles. A yellow block of butter blurring at the edges. A shallow glass bowl of lemon peel. I toured the row. This was the week of my ninth birthday, and it had been a long day at school of cursive lessons, which I hated, and playground yelling about point scoring, ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. Rose goes through life feeling people’s emotions through their food. Many eat to feel happy and comforted. Does this extreme sensory experience bring any happiness to Rose or only sadness?

  2. What does Rose mean when she says her dad always seemed like a guest to her? How does this play out in the rest of the novel?

  3. “Mom's smiles were so full of feeling that people leaned back a little when she greeted them. It was hard to know just how much was being offered.” What does Rose mean and how does this trait affect the mother’s relationships?

  4. Why do you think the dad like medical dramas but hate hospitals?

  5. Rose says, “Mom loved my brother more. Not that she didn’t love me-- I felt the wash of ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Bender ... lingers in the experiences of her characters rather than bothering with scientific or rational explanations. But to place the novel in the genre of magical realism is to exaggerate the scale of Bender's project and to distract from the very realist depiction of family and food that she has created. Bender takes a magical premise and makes a real story out of it: Rose's coming-of-age narrative unfolds alongside several other smaller, though related, stories of love, and a larger but more subtle commentary on consumption...continued

Full Review (651 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Casey Cep).

Media Reviews

Entertainment Weekly - Leah Greenblat
Lemon's story never fully coalesces, but it still lingers long after, like the hum of a half-?forgotten melody. B+

The Washington Post - Ron Charles
Too much of this could quickly overwhelm the flavor of a story with the cloying aftertaste of Alice Hoffman's most overcooked novels, but Bender is sparing with the pixie dust. And besides, what really interests her is the sympathy Rose feels for her family, shown in a series of small, delicate scenes that convey the loneliness of these lives.

Library Journal
Bender...deconstructs one of our most pleasurable activities, eating, and gives it a whole new flavor. She smooths out the lumps and grittiness of life to reveal its zest. Highly recommended for readers with sophisticated palates.

Publishers Weekly
[T]his coming-of-age story makes a bittersweet dish, brimming with a zesty, beguiling talent.

Booklist - Michael Cart
But the effect soon fades, and the reader is left only with a lingering feeling of emptiness and the realization that sadness tastes a lot like bitterness.

Reader Reviews

Llama

One of my Favs
Loved this book. Dark. Creative. The characters were just so well conceived in my opinion. I tend to like off the wall books, and ones that focus on "random" people, and this was completely up my alley. Will definitely read more from ...   Read More
Eileen Elkinson

Amazing taste buds...
In her ninth year little Rose makes an amazing discovery. She can tell what a person is feeling by eating the food they prepare. Rose learns that her happy go lucky mother is actually very sad and unfulfilled. That her brother is almost disappearing ...   Read More
SUZANNE G

A very different story
This book is fiction and that fact needs to be remembered by the reader! Aimee Bender has created a character who has a terrific burden to bear. I liked her. I thought she stood up so solidly whenever she began to realize what she was eating had an ...   Read More
SallyAnn

The Real Foodie
I may have missed the author’s intent in this book. I never really connected to the characters but the energy of the TV show Pushing Daisies with splashes of Alice in Wonderland did keep me turning the pages looking for that elusive moment. At ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Culinary Delights
Novelists are rarely famous for their culinary descriptions.  While food is often only the necessary garnish on an emotional or provocative scene, there are a few writers whose fictional foods have left readers salivating.  Modernism gave us the memory-inducing madeleine of Marcel Proust's Remembrance of Things Past and the triumphantly-perfect boeuf en daube of Virginia Woolf's To the Lighthouse, but more recently novelists have turned their attention from fictional to nonfiction foods.

Animal, Vegetable, MiracleBarbara Kingsolver's experiment in eating locally produced her charming memoir Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life.  Moving from Arizona to Virginia, Kingsolver and her family resolved to eat only ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, try these:

  • The Folded Clock jacket

    The Folded Clock

    by Heidi Julavits

    Published 2016

    About this book

    More by this author

    A raucous, stunningly candid, deliriously smart diary of two years in the life of the incomparable Heidi Julavits

  • Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain jacket

    Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain

    by Lucia Perillo

    Published 2013

    About this book

    Set in a small town in the Pacific Northwest, Lucia Perillo's story collection is a sharp-edged, witty testament to the ambivalence of emotions, the way they pull in directions that often cancel one another out or twist their subjects into knots.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Aimee Bender
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    Cecilia
    by K-Ming Chang
    In the first few pages of K-Ming Chang's bizarre yet engrossing novella Cecilia, Seven, the ...
  • Book Jacket: Women and Children First
    Women and Children First
    by Alina Grabowski
    After Lucy Anderson falls to her death at a high school party, no one in Nashquitten, her gloomy, ...
  • Book Jacket: Henry Henry
    Henry Henry
    by Allen Bratton
    Allen Bratton's Henry Henry chronicles a year in the life of Hal Lancaster. Readers already ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.