Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Empress Orchid by Anchee Min

Empress Orchid

by Anchee Min

Empress Orchid by Anchee Min X
Empress Orchid by Anchee Min
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2004, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2005, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Empress Orchid sweeps readers into the heart of the Forbidden City to tell the fascinating story of a young concubine who becomes China's last empress. Min introduces the beautiful Tzu Hsi, known as Orchid, and weaves an epic tale about the country girl who seized power through seduction, murder, and endless intrigue. When China is threatened by enemies, she alone seems capable of holding the country together.

From a master of the historical novel, Empress Orchid sweeps readers into the heart of the Forbidden City to tell the fascinating story of a young concubine who becomes China's last empress. Min introduces the beautiful Tzu Hsi, known as Orchid, and weaves an epic of a country girl who seized power through seduction, murder, and endless intrigue. When China is threatened by enemies, she alone seems capable of holding the country together.

In this "absorbing companion piece to her novel Becoming Madame Mao" (New York Times), readers and reading groups will once again be transported by Min's lavish evocation of the Forbidden City in its last days of imperial glory and by her brilliant portrait of a flawed yet utterly compelling woman who survived, and ultimately dominated, a male world.

Chapter One

My imperial life began with a smell. A rotten smell that came from my father's coffin—he had been dead for two months and we were still carrying him, trying to reach Peking, his birthplace, for burial. My mother was frustrated. "My husband was the governor of Wuhu," she said to the footmen whom we had hired to bear the coffin. "Yes, madam," the head footman answered humbly, "and we sincerely wish the governor a good journey home."

In my memory, my father was not a happy man. He had been repeatedly demoted because of his poor performance in the suppression of the Taiping peasant uprisings. Not until later did I learn that my father was not totally to blame. For years China had been dogged by famine and foreign aggression. Anyone who tried on my father's shoes would understand that carrying out the Emperor's order to restore peace in the countryside was impossible—peasants saw their lives as no better than death.

...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
We hope the following questions will stimulate discussion for reading groups and provide a deeper understanding of Empress Orchid for every reader.
  1. Orchid's character is based on Tzu Hsi, China's longest-reigning female ruler and its last empress. In what ways does Min develop a convincing voice in Orchid? How does Min make the Forbidden City come to life?
  2. Early in the novel, Orchid hears a beggar singing: "To give it up is to accept your fate. / To give it up is to create peace. / To give it up is to gain the upper hand, and / To give it up is to have it all" (16). How does this song set the tone for the rest of the book?
  3. Success in the Forbidden City rests heavily on loyalty. How does Orchid...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

St. Louis Post-Dispatch - Repps Hudson
Min was aided greatly by her ability to read Chinese documents and to obtain records that outlined the basics of 19th-century court life. Writing in her second language of English, Min handles the development of this novel very smoothly and with dialogue that usually seems apt for court life.

San Francisco Chronicle - Irene Wanner
Min's efforts to do justice to both imaginative fiction and accurate history become strained. A huge cast of characters races through these pages, and keeping track of who's who, much less whose side they're on, grows difficult.

The Guardian - Julia Lovell
Min keeps the melodrama under control with plenty of mind-improving history, while spicing up the stolid period detail with a few touches of romantic historical schlock: the evil, moneygrubbing uncle intent on marrying his beautiful niece off to his idiot opium-addict son, the will-they-won't-they sexual tension between Cixi and her bodyguard, Yung Lu.

Booklist - Donna Seaman
In her second powerful and brilliantly conceived fictionalized portrait of a strong and controversial woman intrinsic to Chinese culture, Min continues to fulfill her mission to tell the truth about her homeland, particularly China's long tradition of demonizing women.

Library Journal - Edward Cone
This imaginative work should be welcome in all public libraries with a taste for history and the exotic.

Publishers Weekly
At times her writing is textbook-flat, and she sometimes loses track of her teeming cast of characters. But readers will be enthralled by the gorgeously woven cultural tapestry and the psychologically astute portrait of the empress - a talented girl from the provinces who married (way) up.

Kirkus Reviews
Evocative, but underpowered in simple narrative.

Reader Reviews

Phillippa Biggs

Fabulous historical fiction
This beautiful book recreates the lives - and frustrations - of some of the residents of the Forbidden City at a tumultus time in China's history, during the challenges and chaos of the opium wars and encroachment by colonial powers on China's ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Empress Orchid, try these:

  • Nefertiti jacket

    Nefertiti

    by Michelle Moran

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    Love, betrayal, political unrest, plague, and religious conflict — Nefertiti brings ancient Egypt to life in vivid detail. Fast-paced and historically accurate, it is the dramatic story of two unforgettable women living through a remarkable period in history.

  • The Blood of Flowers jacket

    The Blood of Flowers

    by Anita Amirrezvani

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    In 17th-century Persia, a young woman and her mother find themselves alone and without a dowry. Forced into a secret marriage to a wealthy man, the young woman is faced with a daunting decision: forsake her own dignity, or risk everything she has in an effort to create a new life.

We have 6 read-alikes for Empress Orchid, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Anchee Min
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...
  • Book Jacket: Icarus
    Icarus
    by K. Ancrum
    The titular protagonist of K. Ancrum's young adult novel Icarus lives a double life that mixes the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Romantic Comedy
by Curtis Sittenfeld
A comedy writer's stance on love shifts when a pop star challenges her assumptions in this witty and touching novel.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.