Reviews of Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi

Inamorata

by Joseph Gangemi

Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi X
Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2004, 319 pages

    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

It's 1922 and Martin Finch is on the case of a lifetime—to determine whether a beautiful Philadelphia socialite is able to contact the spirit realm. He is prepared to debunk a fraud but instead the man of science falls in love with the medium in this debut historical thriller.

In the tradition of Carter Beats the Devil and The Alienist—a historical page-turner and the debut of a spectacular young talent.

It is 1920s Philadelphia, a time when the feverish popular obsession with the paranormal is confronted by the inevitable ascendance of the scientific method. With everyone from Houdini to Arthur Conan Doyle weighing in on the existence of parapsychological phenomena, the media is as fixated on the sensational debate as scientists and would-be psychics. Indeed, in 1922, Scientific American offers five thousand dollars for evidence of "conclusive psychic manifestations."

Inspired by this real-life event, Inamorata follows Martin Finch, a twenty-three-year-old Harvard graduate student and member of Scientific American's investigative committee, on the case of a lifetime—an attempt to determine whether Mina Crawley, a beautiful Philadelphia socialite, is able to contact the spirit realm. In the tiny upstairs room of the Crawleys' elegant Rittenhouse Square townhouse, Finch is prepared to debunk a fraud. But instead the man of science breaks the cardinal rule of psychic investigation: Never fall in love with the medium...

Chapter 1

"Hypnotize her."

I looked at the girl Halliday had just shoved at me like a virgin sacrifice. She was a leggy little sophomore from Radcliffe, slim as a cigarette, with a black bob and painted brows that gave her a look of pretty astonishment. She gazed up at me in myopic perplexity, as if my face were a puzzle she'd completed only to find herself holding an unaccounted piece.

I looked at Halliday. "I beg your pardon?"

"Hypnotize her, Finch," he repeated. "Everyone knows you can do it."

"You're mistaken."

"Am I? Why don't we ask Dickie Hodgson's sister?"

Halliday gave me a challenging look. The smug son of a bitch knew he had me. I glanced past him to the nearest exit, clear across Emerson's student lounge, calculating the odds of making my escape before Halliday succeeded in drawing a crowd. A few years earlier I might've stood a chance, but ever since Prohibition attendance at the psychology department's illicit ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. Is Mina Crawley genuine, or a fake? Do you believe she was manipulating Finch all along to sway the outcome of the investigation, or that she genuinely loved him?

  2. We are currently enjoying a resurgence of interest in spirit-mediums, thanks to the popularity of TV "channelers" like James Van Praagh, John Edwards, and Sylvia Brown. Do you believe this is coincidental, or is spiritualism a timeless fascination?

  3. Have you ever visited a psychic? Did the experience strengthen your belief or confirm your doubt? Did the psychic you visited strike you as genuine?

  4. On the back of Inamorata Audrey Niffenegger praises the novel for its "peculiar sex scenes." Did you find these scenes peculiar? Provocative? What are some of your favorite ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Inamorata, Gangemi's first published novel, features a cast of skeptical graduate students, morphine addicts, beguiling spirit-mediums, sadistic gynecologists, peg-legged Filipino butlers, and a talkative ghost. For historical fiction buffs who like their reading matter a little bit thrilling and more than a touch on the strange side...continued

Full Review (432 words).

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Media Reviews

Baltimore Sun
Full of convincing period detail—offers not only a fast-paced thriller but a good love story to boot.

Bookpage
A skeptical investigator into paranormal phenomena has much in common with a skeptical book reviewer both of them are ready to disenchant. In the case of Joseph Gangemi's debut novel, both of these skeptics (one inside looking out, the other outside looking in) are delightfully bound to fail. Gangemi takes us into the spiritualist fever of the post-World War I years, vividly recreating an atmosphere in which a scientific journal incites its employees to satisfy the public's hunger for authentic spooks.”

The New York Times Book Review
A great historical story [told with] helpings of mystery and otherworldly strangeness.

Kirkus Reviews
[A] pleasantly nostalgic atmosphere and a personable young narrator are the attractions in screenwriter Gangemi's more-than-competent first novel... Conan Doyle nicely and neatly updated.

Library Journal - Wendy Bethel
Neither mystery nor romance, this is a suspense novel with both a love story and a puzzle at its center....Replete with images of Old Philadelphia and the Roaring Twenties, this is a thriller you won't put down until the last page. Recommended for all public libraries.

Publishers Weekly
Gangemi is an extremely adept writer, though frequent wisecracks and references to popular songs and consumer products of the 1920s wear thin. His plot, too, is a bit weak, but this is an undeniably clever concept and an enjoyable read.

Author Blurb Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveler’s Wife
I adore séances, skeptical graduate students, peculiar sex scenes, beguiling and contra-dictory psychic mediums, and forgotten history Inamorata has all this and more. Mr. Gangemi has constructed his tale with skill, panache, and dry humor. I stayed up very late reading this, and the characters got into my dreams. It’s a wonderful book.

Author Blurb Darin Strauss, author of Chang and Eng
Inamorata affectionately evokes the pop culture and idioms of the Prohibition era...

Author Blurb Ken Kalfus, author of The Commissariat of Enlightenment
A glittering depiction of Jazz Age Philadelphia and a swift entertainment that conjures the forces shaping human destiny science, the supernatural and romantic love.

Author Blurb Matthew Pearl, author of The Dante Club
I like to think I could not be hypnotized by even the most masterful attempt. Yet what else can I call the effect of this novel that had me unable to put it down for days straight? Its story of investigating mesmerism and trances among 1920s Philadelphia socialites is a mesmerizing and entrancing experience… A novel as smart as its protagonist.

Reader Reviews

Nina

Great book.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Interesting Link:
A reproduction of Houdini's pamphlet exposing Margery The Medium.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Inamorata, try these:

  • Arthur & George jacket

    Arthur & George

    by Julian Barnes

    Published 2006

    About this book

    More by this author

    An utter astonishment that captures an era through one life celebrated internationally - Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; and another entirely forgotten - George Edalji.

  • The Rule of Four jacket

    The Rule of Four

    by Ian Caldwell, Dustin Thomason

    Published 2005

    About this book

    More by this author

    An ivy league murder, a mysterious coded manuscript and the secrets of a Renaissance prince collide memorably in this debut novel, that weaves together suspense and scholarship, high art and unimaginable treachery.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Red
    Big Red
    by Jerome Charyn
    Jerome Charyn made his name as an author of detective novels, and over the years he has taken his ...
  • Book Jacket: If I Survive You
    If I Survive You
    by Jonathan Escoffery
    In If I Survive You, author Jonathan Escoffery portrays a family falling apart with grace. Main ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Ways We Hide
by Kristina McMorris
From the bestselling author of Sold On A Monday, a sweeping tale of an illusionist recruited by British intelligence in World War II.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.