Summary and book reviews of Exit Wounds by J.A. Jance

Exit Wounds

by J.A. Jance

Exit Wounds
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2003, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2004, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A powerful tale that explores the darkest corners of human nature, revealing the grievous injuries inflicted behind locked doors, the unseen wounds that bleed and destroy and never heal.

The incomparable J. A. Jance returns with a powerful tale that explores the darkest corners of human nature, revealing the grievous injuries inflicted behind locked doors, the unseen wounds that bleed and destroy and never heal ...

The heat is a killer in Cochise County, Arizona, with temperatures over 100 degrees. In the suffocating stillness of an airless trailer, a woman is lying dead, a bullet hole in her chest. Why someone would murder a harmless loner with a soft spot for stray dogs is only one of the questions nagging at the local police; another is why the killer used an eighty-five-year-old bullet, fired from the same weapon that slaughtered two other women who were discovered bound, naked, and gruesomely posed on the remote edge of a rancher's land.

The slayings are as oppressive as the blistering heat for Sheriff Joanna Brady, who must shoulder the added double burden of a brutal reelection campaign and major developments on the home front. With suddenly more on her plate than many big-city law officers have to contend with, Joanna must put marital distractions and an opponent's dirty tricks in the background and deal with the terrifying reality that now threatens everyone in her jurisdiction: a serial killer in their midst.

A twisted and lethal drama is unfolding in this small corner of the southwestern desert as fear, hatred, and the evil at the core of one family's history come to a rapid boil beneath a merciless Arizona sun. Pressure mounts for Sheriff Brady personally and professionally while she pursues a sadistic murderer into the shadows of the past to get to the roots of a monstrous obsession ... and expose the permanent wounds of a crime far worse than homicide.


Author's Note
Hoarders like Carol Mossman exist in the real world. I wouldn't have known about them or written about them had it not been for my sister, E. Jane Decker, Director of Animal Control for Pinal County in Coolidge, Arizona. Like Carol Mossman, these unfortunate women have two things in common -- a history of sexual abuse when they were children and the unending availability of unwanted dogs.

What can we do to help? Understand that when we take a cute, cuddly little puppy into our homes, it is a lifetime commitment that covers the next 10 to 15 years -- if we're very lucky. We need to understand that if the dog in our care has problems, we must go to experts for the kind of help and training that will keep Spot or Daisy from becoming "unwanted and unplaceable." We need to spay and neuter our animals and, when it's time for a new dog in our life, we need to avail ourselves of pet rescue operations all over the country.
Finally, if you know of a hoarder in your neighborhood, tell your local animal control officers what's going on. Hoarders think they're helping, but usually the animals in their "care" are undernourished, unvaccinated, neglected, and unsocialized animals who are difficult to place once removed from their unfortunate environment.

Our mother always used to say, "God helps those who help themselves." Maybe in this instance, God helps those who help others -- because the dogs can't help themselves and neither can the hoarders.

Prologue

The woman lay in her bed, tossing and turning, and tried to sleep. It was hot, but southern Arizona in July is always hot. Due to unpaid bills, the power company had shut off electricity to the shabby mobile home months ago. By now she was pretty well used to sleeping without benefit of a cooler or even a blowing fan.

The heat was a factor, but more disturbing than physical discomfort was thinking about the approaching interview. She had kept her mouth shut for almost thirty years. For that long, other than pouring her heart out to her grandmother, she had been part of an ugly conspiracy of silence. No more. Tomorrow--today, in fact--she was going to talk. To strangers. To reporters. She was going to let it all hang out. The question was, what would happen then?

Someone had told her once--wasn't it that same grandmother?--that the truth will set you free. The story she was about to tell was the truth, but would it really free her of the demons that plagued her...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

St Louis Post-Dispatch

Brady comes into her own in this book...making an already appealing character even more so.

Washington Times

J. A. Jance does not disappoint her fans.

Chicago Tribune

Joanna Brady is delightful.

Cleveland Plain-Dealer

The plotting is up to Jance’s high standards...bracing.

Entertainment Weekly

Taut . . . entertaining.

People

Jance delivers a devilish page-turner.

Booklist - Stephanie Zvirin

Jance builds her story around a real-life contemporary social concern, in this case the psychological disorder known as hoarding. Brady fans won't want to put this one down....

Publishers Weekly

In a fine addition to a lively series... Arizona sheriff Joanna Brady once again juggles police work and her complicated personal schedule...

Library Journal - Lucius Beebe

Fans anxiously awaiting Jance's tenth outing in her Joanna Brady series will not be disappointed....Jance expertly weaves plot and family saga to produce another first-rate page-turner. For all mystery collections.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Exit Wounds, try these:

  • Bad Country jacket

    Bad Country

    by CB McKenzie

    Published 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The newest winner of the Tony Hillerman Prize, a debut mystery set in the Southwest starring a former rodeo cowboy turned private investigator, told in a transfixingly original style.

  • The Sinister Pig jacket

    The Sinister Pig

    by Tony Hillerman

    Published 2004

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    With his usual up-front approach to issues concerning Native Americans, Hillerman leads his readers through another of his intricate plots and delivers a masterful tale that both entertains and educates.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.