Summary and book reviews of Man Eater by Ray Shannon

Man Eater

by Ray Shannon

Man Eater by Ray Shannon X
Man Eater by Ray Shannon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2003, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2004, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Fast, furious, and laugh-out-loud funny, Man Eater is a stylish, cinematic thriller fans of Tinseltown high adventure are sure to enjoy.

Drop-dead gorgeous Ronnie Deal is an up-and-comer at Velocity Pictures, whose enviable, fast-paced Hollywood lifestyle takes a major detour after a really bad day at the office. Fuming at the Tiki Shack Bar over a rival's latest attempt to derail her career, Ronnie comes to the rescue of a girl being beaten by an angry thug, unaware that Antsy Carruth has stolen twenty-five grand from her drug mule ex-boyfriend, and hired enforcer Neon Polk has been sent to get the money back. When Ronnie batters Polk unconscious with a beer bottle and Antsy takes a powder, Polk, humiliated and blinded with rage, seeks vengeance.

But people in The Business don't call Ronnie "Raw Deal" for nothing, and Polk won't have his revenge without paying for it. Enter Ellis Langford, ex-con and aspiring screenwriter. Langford has an angry ex-wife, a long-lost child, and a pair of Hispanic killers who want him dead, but if showing Ronnie how to make a real "killing" will earn him the Hollywood payday he's after . . .

Fast, furious, and laugh-out-loud funny, Man Eater is a stylish, cinematic thriller fans of Tinseltown high adventure are sure to enjoy.

Chapter One

IT WAS A typical Hollywood story: At 10:22 Wednesday morning, Ronnie Deal had Brad Pitt; at 4:51 that same afternoon, she didn't.

These things happened to movie producers, of course. Star players drifted in and out of film projects like children on a sugar high running from room to room. No one understood this better than Ronnie. But sometimes the sudden downturn in a producer's fortunes had nothing to do with the cruel hand of fate and everything to do with simple subterfuge. Sometimes the key talent attached to a project went away not on a whim, but because somebody somewhere pushed a button. That was what had happened to Ronnie today. She was certain of it. Brad Pitt's bailout from Trouble Town had Andy Gleason's handwriting all over it.

From her lonely little corner table in the back shadows of the Tiki Shack bar, Ronnie allowed the realization to bring her to a slow boil.

There were all kinds of rivals in the film business--crosstown ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Few things were admired more in Hollywood than the clean kill... better that you were known for having once cut an adversary's heart out with a scalpel than disemboweled him with a pickax. This is the essence of newcomer Shannon's view of the movie business, and it sums up both the sardonic humor and offhanded brutality of this clever thriller....This novel is a must for fans of Leonard, Wambaugh and Hiaasen.

Kirkus Reviews
Life is like the movie business in this lean, funny thriller about a producer scrambling to save her life and career.

Reader Reviews

Nataliw

great Read!
What a fun story, totally enjoyed myself!

Paul M

A fun, fast read. Looking forward to more of Ray Shannon work!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Man Eater, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Spymaster of Baghdad
    The Spymaster of Baghdad
    by Margaret Coker
    For the last 17 years, the country of Iraq has known almost constant violence and political upheaval...
  • Book Jacket: Hades, Argentina
    Hades, Argentina
    by Daniel Loedel
    Daniel Loedel's debut novel, Hades, Argentina, opens in 1986 when we meet Tomás Orillo, a young...
  • Book Jacket: Dark Horses
    Dark Horses
    by Susan Mihalic
    Dark Horses is a shocking, heart-pounding debut; it's both a coming-of-age novel and an unflinching ...
  • Book Jacket: Best Laid Plans
    Best Laid Plans
    by Gwen Florio
    When starting a series, first impressions are key. Introducing a sympathetic or relatable ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Smalltime
    by Russell Shorto

    Family secrets emerge as a best-selling author dives into the history of the mob in small-town America.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Northern Reach
    by W.S. Winslow

    What is the weight of the stories we choose to tell...and the burdens of those we hide?

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Narrowboat Summer
by Anne Youngson
From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.
Win This Book!
Win Band of Sisters

Band of Sisters
by Lauren Willig

"A crackling portrayal of everyday American heroines…A triumph."
— Fiona Davis

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W T's Life T's H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.