Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

Reviews of By Way of Water by Charlotte Gullick

By Way of Water

by Charlotte Gullick

By Way of Water by Charlotte Gullick X
By Way of Water by Charlotte Gullick
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Aug 2002, 256 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

A heartfelt novel about the legacies of love, faith and violence, and the private rules we set for ourselves when the world seems irreconcilably misaligned.

Struggling to feed their children in an unforgiving California forest when all the logging jobs are gone, Jake and Dale Colby make personal vows that can only make matters worse. Jake will not accept help--from the government or his neighbors--and Dale won't allow him to hunt. She believes her faith will sustain them. He believes in nothing.

But one other member of the family makes a promise to herself. Seven-year-old Justy believes that she alone can hold the family together, even when Jake's violence surfaces again.

Narrated by this gentle, even wise young girl, this moving story reveals a family's most volatile emotions and private aspirations, like old-growth trees through an inland fog. With a clear insight and the deepest empathy, young Justy isolates the stark realities around her, even as she dreams with her mother of a safe world that only God can promise.

By the final pages of Charlotte Gullick's powerful debut novel, we discover--along with Justy--how to heal the lesions that appear when obligation is delivered against human nature.

Justy stood at the window, thinking about the snow, the house a fortress of shadows, and traced a river on the windowpane, a deer leaping over the jagged line of water. Anything not to feel her stomach tumble in hunger again. She tried to remember the last time the lights were on—maybe a week ago—and she wished Jake would pick up the fiddle and distract them, like he'd done every night this week. Before he'd gone into Sullivan's with the can of pennies and tried to buy food. Before Dale had broken one of her baptismal promises to Jehovah. As the silences swelled in the dark house, Justy gathered to her the sure knowledge that something was breaking; she heard it beneath the softness of the falling snow. She looked out into the night and asked Jehovah to take something from her, to help Jake and Dale find a way. She traced another river and watched it slide down the glass. Then Jake stood up from the kitchen table, his shadow raging on the wall.

"I'll do it...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Gullicks debut novel is a lovingly rendered story of a family and a community surrendering angrily to changing times..... few authors have paid attention to characters descended from Steinbeck's and Norris's, and its refreshing to see a novel that does justice to this forgotten pocket of the country.

Booklist - Michele Leber
Gullick deftly touches on wider issues of environmentalism and racism, and her characters are well drawn. A heartfelt first novel.

Kirkus Reviews
An impoverished family tries to scrape by during hard times in the backwoods of northern California....Rambling and unfocused a nicely written debut tale that meanders slowly in no particular direction.

Reader Reviews

sonny

Beautiful imagery, strong characters, difficult topics. All of it well done. This a book that can be ready many times over.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked By Way of Water, try these:

  • Massachusetts, California, Timbuktu jacket

    Massachusetts, California, Timbuktu

    by Stephanie Rosenfeld

    Published 2004

    About this book

    Smart and poignant, charming and witty this is a wonderful debut novel, a mother-daughter story that proves it's always those who give you the most trouble that end up getting access to the purest part of your heart.

  • Rescuing Patty Hearst jacket

    Rescuing Patty Hearst

    by Virginia Holman

    Published 2004

    About this book

    A startling memoir of a daughter's harrowing sojourn in the prison of her mother's mind and a moving portrait of a young woman defined by her mother's illness -- until at last she rekindles a family love that had lost its way.

We have 4 read-alikes for By Way of Water, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    The Ballad of Jacquotte Delahaye
    by Briony Cameron
    Our titular heroine's story begins in Yáquimo, Santo Domingo. Jacquotte Delahaye is a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Another Word for Love
    Another Word for Love
    by Carvell Wallace
    "I write about beautiful things because I live in a country that has tried to kill me and every...
  • Book Jacket
    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson
    Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred ...
  • Book Jacket: Craft
    Craft
    by Ananda Lima
    You may have heard about books that are letters to God, but what about books that are letters to the...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Win This Book
Win The Bluestockings

The Bluestockings by Susannah Gibson

An illuminating group portrait of the eighteenth-century women who dared to imagine an active life for themselves in both mind and spirit.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.