Reading guide for Shalimar The Clown by Salman Rushdie

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Shalimar The Clown

by Salman Rushdie

Shalimar The Clown
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2006, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Several characters in Shalimar the Clown are known by two or more names: Shalimar/Noman Sher Noman; Boonyi/Bhoomi; India/Kashmira; Peggy /“The Grey Rat.” What is the significance of these multiple names? What is the relationship between given names and nicknames or names that characters choose for themselves?

  2. The novel presents many examples of different types of magic, some more potent than others: Olga Volga’s potato magic; Nazarebaddoor’s ability to see into the future; Firdaus’s snake charms; the Seventh Sarkar’s attempt to make an entire garden vanish. Why do so many characters believe in and rely on magic? Is the reader meant to believe that their magic is real? Does it need to be real in order to have effect?

  3. Nazarebaddor and General Kachhwaha are blessed (or cursed) with the abilities of perfect foresight and perfect memory, respectively. Whose gift is more powerful/valuable? Why do both characters end up suffering because of their talents? What is Rushdie trying to say about the nature of the past and the future?

  4. Rushdie portrays love as a profound, complex, potentially dangerous emotion. In the world of this novel, does true love exist? Or is love negated by distrust and infidelity? Is love inherently impassioned and therefore volatile, or can it be untroubled?

  5. As represented by the Banquet of the Thirty-Six Courses Minimum, the acts of preparing and consuming food stand as symbols of tradition, wealth, and power. How does Rushdie achieve this effect? What does it say about the people of Pachigam and Shirmal? Discuss the psychology of Boonyi’s addiction to food while she is living in New Delhi.

  6. At the beginning of the “Boonyi” chapter, young Shalimar learns about the shadow planets, Rahu and Ketu, which, we are told, “existed without actually existing” and were able to “bend destiny to their will.” Do these otherworldly phenomena assert themselves in this world? If so, who seems the most affected by these forces?

  7. How does the story of Max’s heroism in Europe during the 1930s and 40s connect to later events in Kashmir and Los Angeles? How, if at all, does World War II differ from India and Pakistan’s struggle for Kashmir or the assault on the West by Islamic terrorists? Is Rushdie saying that there are the universal characteristics of war? Does he think that peace is ever possible?

  8. The novel presents many variations on the idea of family–traditional nuclear families, broken families, adoptive families, multicultural families. How do the circumstances of each character’s upbringing determine or shape his or her future? Is heritage destiny?

  9. Rushdie describes Los Angeles as a “decentered promiscuous sprawl,” “a hidden city, a city of strangers,” a “veiled and difficult place,” the “erotic capital of the obscure stratagem.” Compare this depiction of the city with the structure of the novel itself, with its multiple locations and shifting perspectives. Why did Rushdie choose to organize the story in this way?

  10. What is the relationship between repentance and forgiveness in the novel? Why can unrepentant Max be forgiven by his daughter while Shalimar cannot forgive repentant Boonyi?

  11. Despite differences in culture, language, and location, the characters find means of communicating with each other. What are some of the ways in which they do this? Is their communication strictly verbal? What is the purpose of communication for characters so fiercely driven by and devoted to their own ambitions?

  12. Play-acting, or assuming a persona, is a motif throughout the text. Abdullah is an actor, Shalimar a circus performer, Max an undercover agent. How does this professional misrepresentation affect the characters’ private lives?

  13. Considering the actions and fates of the characters in Shalimar the Clown, is revenge ever justifiable? How is Shalimar’s quest for vengeance different from India’s? Do they accomplish what they had hoped to?

  14. At the end of the novel, does India kill Shalimar? Why are the final passages cryptic? Does the author view the future as predetermined, or is it possible to break the cycle?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Random House. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.