Reading guide for Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Inamorata

by Joseph Gangemi

Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi X
Inamorata by Joseph Gangemi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2004, 319 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. Is Mina Crawley genuine, or a fake? Do you believe she was manipulating Finch all along to sway the outcome of the investigation, or that she genuinely loved him?

  2. We are currently enjoying a resurgence of interest in spirit-mediums, thanks to the popularity of TV "channelers" like James Van Praagh, John Edwards, and Sylvia Brown. Do you believe this is coincidental, or is spiritualism a timeless fascination?

  3. Have you ever visited a psychic? Did the experience strengthen your belief or confirm your doubt? Did the psychic you visited strike you as genuine?

  4. On the back of Inamorata Audrey Niffenegger praises the novel for its "peculiar sex scenes." Did you find these scenes peculiar? Provocative? What are some of your favorite racy scenes in literature? What makes one better than another? Is there a recipe for a good literary sex scene?

  5. The ending of Inamorata is intentionally ambiguous, leaving us to wonder whether the child of Mina Crawley was fathered by her husband, or Finch, or someone else altogether. Who do you think is the true father of Chester?

  6. What sort of life do you envision Finch had following the events of this book? How do you think his love affair with Mina affected his later life?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Penguin. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.