Reading guide for Love Sick: One Woman's Journey through Sexual Addiction by Sue William Silverman

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Love Sick: One Woman's Journey through Sexual Addiction

by Sue William Silverman

Love Sick: One Woman's Journey through Sexual Addiction by Sue William Silverman X
Love Sick: One Woman's Journey through Sexual Addiction by Sue William Silverman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2008, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Compare Sue William Silverman to other contemporary women memoirists (such as Susanna Kaysen, Kathryn Harrison, and Caroline Knapp) who write about addiction, incest, or emotional issues.

  2. How are the "dangerous men" with whom Silverman "acts out" representative of her father? How does Silverman's past affect the events presented in Love Sick?

  3. What role does the Workbook play in telling Silverman's story?

  4. Silverman uses such concrete items as a maroon scarf, photographs, and a turquoise earring as metaphors. Discuss the kinds of emotional states these items represent.

  5. Compare sex addiction to other addictions. What role does food play on this rehab unit? In what ways is sex addiction about more than just sex?

  6. What is at stake for Silverman if she doesn't recover? What does she risk losing?

  7. Compare Silverman with the other women on the unit. In what ways do they either help or impede her recovery? Who has more of an impact on Silverman, Linda, Jill, or "Pole Lady"?

  8. What are the major conflicts in Love Sick? Is the emphasis on internal conflict, external, or both?

  9. When Ted, the therapist, talks about relationships, he uses the phrase, "Water seeks its own level." What does this mean in terms of Silverman's relationship with her husband? With Rick?

  10. Even though Ted is portrayed as a sympathetic therapist, how do you feel about him, given the fact that Gabriel was hired to be in daily contact with the women on the unit?

  11. In memoir there are usually at least two "voices," even though there is only one narrator. One voice tells the story, the other reflects upon it. Discuss how these two voices twine together in Love Sick, one to represent the addict woman, the other the woman struggling to be sober.

  12. The idea of language plays a crucial role in Love Sick in terms of revealing how certain words can be "sober," while others can keep one in an addiction. What are some of these words and how does Silverman's language change over the course of the memoir?

  13. Love Sick suggests that we are a nation that uses sex to sell everything: cars, alcohol, movies, music, children's clothing--even love. What are specific examples of this that you see in the world around you? How does this affect women? Men?

  14. How do you think Hollywood would rewrite the ending of Love Sick?

Copyright Sue Silverman 2002.

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of W.W. Norton & Company. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.