Reading guide for The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The House at the End of Hope Street

by Menna van Praag

The House at the End of Hope Street by Menna van Praag
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2013, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2014, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. If you were to ever find yourself at the house at the end of Hope Street, who are some of the women that you would like to meet there? What might materialize in your room: a wardrobe, books, a piano, or something else?

  2. Besides the women mentioned in the novel, who are some others that you feel must once have visited the house?

  3. Would you—like Peggy—give up hopes of having a family of your own in order to be the caretaker of such a magical place?

  4. Which of character could you relate to most—Alba, Greer, or Carmen?

  5. Are Alba's psychic abilities a blessing or a curse?

  6. Does Carmen stay with Tiago because she was accustomed to the abuse? Is Tiago's death justified self–defense?

  7. If you were one of Alba's siblings, would you have complied with your father's request to punish your mother for her affair?

  8. Does society still hold a double standard regarding infidelity, frowning more upon women who cheat than men?

  9. Do you feel sorry for Blake or despise him for the way he treats Greer? Do you think that most womanizers are driven by something painful in their past?

  10. Did you suspect that Dr. Skinner was a woman before Alba confessed it to her father? Why was Alba unable to see Zoë's adoration for so long?

  11. Elizabeth and Albert were brought together by E. M. Forster's A Room with a View, and Peggy and Harry were brought together, in part, by a love of movies. How important are shared tastes and interests in a romantic relationship?

  12. Why does the house decide to change its all–women rule and allow Edward and Tilly to move in?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Penguin Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Sister Acts

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.