MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reading guide for American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

American Dervish

A Novel

by Ayad Akhtar

American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar X
American Dervish by Ayad Akhtar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2012, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2012, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Megan Shaffer
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

Dear Reader -

Growing up in the Midwest, I was always aware that my classmates and friends - and, later, my colleagues - had no idea what to make of Islam. It wasn't ignorance; they were good, smart people. They'd just never been exposed to it.

I wanted to write a book that gave the American audience a felt sense of what it was like to grow up Muslim in America. To render the faith's beauty, its simplicity, and its vivid spirituality. All of which I wanted to express in an American setting, in an American idiom. And yet, with Islam's beauty come - as with so many religions - more troubling traditions and tendencies. It was clear to me that no novel I could write would do the subject justice without also exposing some of these more painful aspects of my life in Muslim America.

In the end, my long-standing desire to write such a book - one that opened a window onto the vibrant and complex reality of Islam in this country - wouldn't come to fruition until I realized that another story I'd been wanting to tell for much of my life could be my vehicle: the story of Mina Ali, a remarkable Pakistani woman who comes to America and brightens the lives of the Shah family, with whom she stays. Here, she meets the love of her life, Nathan Wolfsohn, a Jewish doctor. The rest is for you to discover!

Writing this book was the most difficult and joyous thing I've ever done. I am so grateful for the course of events that has put it in your hands. I hope you enjoy it.

Warmly,

Ayad Akhtar

Questions and Topics for Discussion

  1. How does the book's Midwestern, Muslim-American, coming-of-age point of view inform your own understanding of what it is to be American?

  2. Do you think that one has to reject one identity in order to embrace another? What choice does Hayat make? What will the result be?

  3. Hayat's mother and father have a difficult relationship. In fact, all of the relationships between men and women in the book are complex, often troubled. What might the author be saying about such relationships within this culture?

  4. Do you think it's valid and/or authentic for male authors to write about feminist issues? What was your feeling about the portrayal of women in American Dervish?

  5. What are the different visions of Islam portrayed in the book?

  6. What did you think of the relationship between Islam and Judaism in the novel?

  7. What is the connection between Hayat's sexual awakening and his growing fervor for Islam?

  8. One of the fundamental themes in the book is how we deal with pain, how we give it meaning, and how religion can shape our relationship to pain. What view does Mina hold about this? What does the imam at the mosque have to say? And how do Hayat's thoughts on this subject evolve?

  9. There are a number of stories about dervishes recounted in the book. Pick one and share your thoughts. Do you agree with this outlook on life?

  10. The word "Islam" means "submission" in Arabic. Pick a character and the different ways in which submission has informed this character's identity and choices, perhaps in ways s/he is not even aware of.


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Back Bay Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  The Devotion of a Hafiz

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...
  • Book Jacket: Pew
    Pew
    by Catherine Lacey
    A quote often attributed to Leo Tolstoy states that "All great literature is one of two stories; a ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Hieroglyphics
    by Jill McCorkle

    A mesmerizing novel about piecing together the hieroglyphics of history and memory.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.