Reading guide for Journal of a UFO Investigator by David J. Halperin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Journal of a UFO Investigator

A Novel

by David J. Halperin

Journal of a UFO Investigator by David J. Halperin X
Journal of a UFO Investigator by David J. Halperin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Feb 2011, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Marnie Colton
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

INTRODUCTION
Danny Shapiro is a sixteen-year-old living in 1960s Pennsylvania with a seriously ill mother and an embittered father. Alienated at home, he's just as isolated at school. His onetime pal Jeff has moved on to other friends and other interests; his onetime crush, Rosa, has vanished from his life. His main satisfaction is investigating UFO activity, which he's been tracking in a secret journal.

Danny has had his own run-in with a flying saucer at age thirteen—or so his journal claims. As he details this event, he slips into a fantasy world in which an apparently chance meeting in the Philadelphia Library connects him to a band of fellow teen investigators who go by the name of SSS, "The Super-Science Society." Soon his new friends—the witty, faintly sinister Julian and the seductive Rochelle—lead him to Miami in search of a long-lost book, a mysterious text once found beside the corpse of a murdered UFO researcher.

He's abandoned in the Miami Airport, captured by the shape-shifting "Three Men in Black." These men may or may not know what happened in Roswell, New Mexico; they may or may not know what the SSS knows. Either way, they're after Danny and the book too. A nighttime chase leads Danny to a flying saucer. Before he knows it, he's transported to a moonlit netherworld—alone and wounded, tormented by thirst, while insect-like "lake creatures" await the moment they'll work their will upon his helpless body.

Trapped in this desolation, Danny fathers a half-alien child who will save the planet from destruction, if only her mysterious illness can be healed. As he struggles to keep his daughter alive, his dark journey takes him through Jordan and Israel to the deserts of New Mexico. Along the way he discovers the frayed threads of time, the secrets of death, and the space where faith, myth, and love intersect.

Plot twists and vibrant fantasy make David Halperin's first novel a compelling exploration of adolescent selfhood and the stories we tell ourselves when real life is too painful to face. Told through the earnest voice of its protagonist and set against the backdrop of the turbulent sixties, Journal of a UFO Investigator weaves together large ideas and simple emotional truths that will resonate with all who read it.

  1. Danny encounters his first UFO at age thirteen. What is the significance of him seeing it at that particular age?

  2. What is Danny's attitude toward his mother? Does it change throughout the book?

  3. What role does Danny's religion play in his identity? In what ways does it help or limit him?

  4. Danny's journal pivots back and forth between his otherworldly fantasy and his day-to-day reality. Which world feels more real to you?

  5. In the UFO, Danny explores the notion of time. What does he learn and how is it useful to him?

  6. This book is very rooted in a particular historical era, referencing Israeli independence, the Kennedy assassination, the Six-Day War, etc. What parallels do you see between that time and our own? Could this story take place in the present?

  7. Many of the characters in this book prove to be untrustworthy. Are there any that you would trust?

  8. When he decides to go to Israel, Danny seems to willfully ignore the question of his mother's health. Was this decision the right one for him? Why or why not?

  9. What is the connection between Danny's search for UFOs and the Cuban Missile Crisis? Why did that event trigger his interest in becoming an investigator?

  10. SPOILER WARNING
  11. As Danny unravels the truths and falsehoods of his journal, it becomes clear that most of this story takes place in his imagination. How did you feel about this revelation? Did it change the way you thought about the book?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Viking. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.