Reading guide for The Confessions of Catherine de Medici by C. W. Gortner

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici

A Novel

by C. W. Gortner

The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2010, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2011, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. C. W. Gortner presents a sympathetic picture of Catherine de Medici, a figure much maligned in history. His goal is to flesh her out as a complex and multifaceted human being—one who faced difficult choices and did the best she could under the circumstances. Does he succeed? Is Catherine a reliable narrator of her own life?
  2. Some historians believe that France would have fallen into revolution two hundred years earlier than it did had Catherine not been in power. In what ways was she instrumental in preserving the stability of her country? Do you consider her methods ruthless or pragmatic?
  3. Talk about Catherine's early life. What does it show about her personality? How does she feel about being offered as a bride to a prince she has never met? Discuss the role throughout history of highborn women used as pawns in games of power. Can you think of others?
  4. Discuss Catherine's arrival in France. What kind of reception does she receive? What are her expectations and what does she find? What kind of prejudice does she face?
  5. How would you describe Diane de Poitiers and her position with Catherine? In what ways do their positions change? Do you think Diane acted out of love for Henri? Did you like her? If so, why? If not, why not?
  6. Discuss the religious strife that affected most of Europe during this time. What would it have been like to live through this turmoil? Are there any parallels we can draw today? Discuss the ways in which Catherine seeks to keep peace between the opposing factions.
  7. How does the novel present the St. Bartholomew's Day Massacre? Did you understand the events leading up to it and Catherine's role? Do you think she deserves the full blame for the massacre? Do you think it could have been avoided? If so, how?
  8. Discuss Catherine's complex relationship with Coligny. What brought them together and what led to that final moment between them?
  9. How does the novel address Catherine's dealings in the occult? How do you feel about her visions, knowing there is documented evidence to support her prophetic abilities? Do you think she put too much trust in her own visions of the future?
  10. Discuss Catherine's children and her relationships with them. Did you understand the various influences that shaped them? Whom did you like the most? Who was the least likeable? Do you think Catherine was a good mother to her children?
  11. Is there any regret in Catherine's account of the actions she's taken or the sacrifices she's made? How does she evolve as a person, from youth to old age?
  12. How do you account for Catherine's reputation in history?
  13. What part of this book most surprised you? Which part most engaged you or did you find most interesting? What have you learned from reading The Confessions of Catherine de Medici about the sixteenth century, French history, and Catherine herself?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Ballantine Books. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book:
  Catherine de Medici

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.