Reading guide for The Closers by Michael Connelly

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Closers

by Michael Connelly

The Closers by Michael Connelly X
The Closers by Michael Connelly
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2006, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Welcome Back Roy: In Michael Connelly's novel, The Closers, Harry Bosch rejoins the ranks of the LAPD after three years in retirement. Harry has a hard time suppressing his excitement at being back. At one point, he says to his partner, Kizmin Rider, "The point is I need the gun. I need the badge. Otherwise I'm out of balance. I need all of this." Why do you think Harry needs to be a cop?
     
  2. The Oldest Living Boot: The new chief of police welcomes Harry back but at the same time he warns him that he is on probation. Harry can't screw up or he'll be out. Later, Harry has a run in with an old adversary, Deputy Chief Irvin Irving, who also welcomes him back with a warning, calling him "a retread." So Harry has to prove himself all over again while watching his back. What do you think Harry's reputation is within the LAPD? What does Irving think of Harry?
     
  3. Forget Closure: Harry's new boss, Abel Pratt, warns him that closing cases is not the same thing as closure. He warns that there is no such thing as closure—that all the police can do is provide answers. Do you agree with that? Can there ever be closure for the victims of crime? Is justice the same thing as closure? How about revenge?
     
  4. The Ripples: The Closers focuses on the toll of violence over time. What effect did Becky Verloren's murder have on her mother and father? Can you think of other examples from the book that show the ripples of crime?
     
  5. High Jingo: Throughout the book, Kizmin Rider fears that Harry's actions will somehow backfire and hurt the chief. Do you think Kiz was dedicated to solving the case or more concerned about helping the chief? In the end, Harry thinks he was set up by the chief to bring Irving down. Is Kiz implicated in that?
     
  6. The City Of Angels: "It was a city full of haves and have nots, movie stars and extras, drivers and the driven, predators and prey." Michael Connelly's novels are, in a way, a love letter to Los Angeles. They describe the good and the bad, the highs and the lows, of this "destination city." How does he reflect that in Harry Bosch's take on the city?
     
  7. A Black Hole: Think about Robert Verloren's actions at the end of the book. Do the terms justice, satisfaction, or closure apply in any way? Why do you think Harry felt guilty about Robert Verloren?
     
  8. One Coming, One Going: Do you think Irving will just walk away? How can he get back at Harry and the chief?
     
  9. Red Herrings: A red herring is defined as something that draws attention away from the central issue. In crime fiction, a red herring is often put there to fool or distract you. Were you fooled by anything in The Closers? Were you surprised by the killer's identity?
     

Posted with permission of MichaelConnelly.com



Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Grand Central Publishing. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.