Reader reviews and comments on The Clash of Civilizations, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Clash of Civilizations

and The Remaking of World Order

by Samuel P. Huntington

The Clash of Civilizations
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 1998, 368 pages
    Dec 1997, 367 pages

  • Rate this book

Buy This Book

About this Book


Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for The Clash of Civilizations
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

misha (02/01/05)

The guy is a disgrace to mankind. It seems to me that he has already made up his mind about the faith of the middle east without properly researching the facts. Any conscious human being with half a brain would know better, (especially a harvard professor) come to think of it.
haha (07/25/04)

harvard professor? well, he seems to be a patriotic <<edited>> (uhh..this word is forbidden) ...he has no idea of international knowledge. sorry, but i hope nobody will listen to what he's saying.
larry b. (03/10/04)

That book is unique in scope, readability. and integrity. It's highly informative and explanatory.
It's written from the point of view of an American, who is fully aware that he presents the western view on world peace,
and world's conflicts: the actual and the future ones. The author's personal view as a westerner is interesting and insigthful,
however the reader needs to bear in mind that it doesn't represent any official version of the present and the future.
The book paints a sober and frequently troubling picture of human civilisations, in their struggle over domination.
In its last part there is a cautious optimism about the possibility of peaceful resolutions of the conflicts before they becomeworld wide.
The message of the author is clear and strong - a big warning before it's too late. It preaches tolerance and coexistence,
The book suggests improvements in the UN and other international institutions, as well as recommendations for new policies.

Excellent book: a landmark in political scholar-popular literature, of the secoand half of the 20 century. It's undoubtly a legacy of an highly intelligent and and widely learned scholar, and a civilised, wise and caring person.
Tyler_D (01/13/04)

The worst book ever!! I've never read such an historical ignorant text! Not only ignorant, it is completely wrong and just not true what he is saying! And to try and divide the world into 8 cultural groups is a schoolboy error!!
umesh shahane (09/17/03)

excellent book,
events on sept 11 have proved that clash is not going to stop.

CH (11/07/02)

Attention has to be drawn to the fact that Huntington in his view argues that Islamic and Christian cultures are contradictory and incompatible and he therefore recommends a form of political apartheit. This is directly comparable with the view of Afrikaner nationalists who built Bantustans for the same reasons-this position was completely rejected by Africans apart from the 'tribal' leaders who benefited from it. An extremely dangerous book!!!
asad (10/23/02)

Each civilization claims to be perfect or close to the perfect, but it is a relative term. The civilization or culture takes its roots from the particular soil. Old civilizations, in my view can only be blended with the invading ciilizations, but their way of living, culture, moral values and norms could hardly be altered. This clash of civilization is not a new thing, what white people had done to red indians,or the Spanish did to Inkas. Similarly the colonial powers ruled for centuries in places like India & Pakistan and blended their cultures. Even today at almost all the above mentioned places except U.S the roots of original cultures are still visible, and the traditions and living of original society has hardly changed. In present day scenario if west or any other civilization thinks it can intrude into culture and living of other weaker nations, it is almost imposible. This world has seen many powerful civilzations but in the due course of history only those impressions are left, which belong to the particular soil
yavuz anik (05/20/02)

why are all so prejudiced?

i know the answer: because we are arrogant and ignorant, that's our problem. if someone made a survey about foreign countries not a single person would know anything.

if we want to participate in discussions about foreign policy and foreign countries we need to get better knowledge about their history and need to understand their culture. when i look into some churches and their rules i think they have a lot of rules which are similar to taliban rules. just because cnn tells us they are bad we don't need to believe it. they are bad but some organisations in the u.s. are bad as well. we need to have critical thoughts about news amd opinions of politicians. we still believe that our westernized culture is better than the eastern backwards cultures but the reason for our superiority just comes from exploiting other countries. the hatred from the eastern world is just a direct result of the globalisation. with his book huntington just supports prejudices and hatred against the islam and the middle east.

what i personally totally disliked was that he thinks turkey is going to take a leading role in the islamic world. this is very unthankful because turkey is a very westernized country and the u.s. have their largest army base in a foreign country in turkey. from here they attack iraq. without turkey a strike against iraq or afghanistan wouldn't be possible.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Of Arms and Artists
    Of Arms and Artists
    by Paul Staiti
    In the late eighteenth-century, the United States of America was still an emerging country, ...
  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
    So Say the Fallen
    by Stuart Neville
    Noir crime fiction – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett anyone? – is an American invention...
  • Book Jacket: The Mothers
    The Mothers
    by Brit Bennett
    Every now and then the publishing industry gushes about a young author destined to become the next ...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Comet Seekers
    by Helen Sedgwick

    A magical, intoxicating debut novel, both intimate and epic.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Next
    by Stephanie Gangi

    Fast-paced, wickedly observant, and haunting in the best sense of the word.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    Exquisitely rendered and morally complex--a brilliant work of historical fiction.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.