Reader reviews and comments on Bobos In Paradise, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bobos In Paradise

The New Upper Class and How They Got There

by David Brooks

Bobos In Paradise
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2000, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2001, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Bobos In Paradise
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Christine (01/23/11)

Favorable
Recently pulled up a sample of this book on my Kindle and barely into it knew I had to read the whole thing. What a refreshing and delicious sociological analysis. Who knew we Americans were such an hysterically funny people. Bears remembering when taking ourselves too seriously. In addition to humor rivaling any good stand-up comedian's, there is much food for serious reflection. I have ordered copies for various friends and family who I know will similarly enjoy this wonderful book.
laura (09/05/10)

Bobos not as cool as yesteryear
Using wit rather than analysis, Brooks compliments his readers on their quirky tastes while ignoring the vast number of Americans, and others, who do not fit his consumer taste class, either because they do not in fact share the values he describes or because they simply don't have the money. and now, a decade later, the description of the laid-back, tolerant wisdom of this "BoBo" class in ascendancy shows up as ephemeral, since we have spent a decade in which the ostentatious rich have led us into crushingly expensive wars, destroyed the financial markets, restored nepotism, and figured out how to feed the working class and rural dwellers a dangerous breed of hater-malarkey in order to grab and keep political control.
Jessica Mende (07/30/05)

Hells Ya
David david David. Brooks Brooks Brooks.

I am in love with this man. Anyone who can write sociology like this and with such sharp wit? A+ Why can't other sociologists write like this? Serious, if all of us were like this more people would 'get it.'

This book is accurate to a 'T' and needs to be read by all. And thought about by all too.

yerba mate, anyone?
Javier Gonzalez (11/03/03)

I enjoy this book very much! I am agree with everything that David Brooks wrote in this book.
Bill (10/22/03)

It is amazing how a book can be written so accurately and in such an entertaining fashion on such a complex social, political, and economic phenomenon, and then leave us with no remedy...Mr. Brooks! How do we stop this 'Bobo' movement, they've gotta go!
Bobo (06/12/02)

I can't believe this has happened. I never knew there was any other Bobo, than me. I have been Bobo since I was fifteen, just out of my rat tail comb, french toes, cuban heels, and vaseline, VO5 and Brylcreem's 'Little Dab'll Do You' days, not to forget Aqua Velva, man, what a life! The book is on the edge of all life stands for, doing your thing, your way, with respect. Bravo!
jean simmons (02/27/02)

i thought bobos explained the differences between this new social class and the other traditional classes

it was very interesting

i enjoyed it!!!!!

chaching

Anonymous (07/15/01)

Judith King
I rushed out to buy the book. Bobos stands for Bourgois Bohemians, and the subtitle is The New Upper Class and How They Got There. A major reference for Brooks is the New York Times Sunday Wedding Announcements. (!) He tracks the ruling class over the past 50 years, from the ending of aristocracy and the Eisenhower/Beaver families, through beatniks, hippies, plutocracy, and finally to the emergence, he says, of a meritocracy. (My belief is that was what the founding fathers were aiming for in the long run.) Humorous, trenchant, and a solid read. Go for it.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Spinster
by Kate Bolick

A bold, original, moving book that will inspire fanatical devotion and ignite debate.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.