Reader reviews and comments on Easy Prey, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Easy Prey

by John Sandford

Easy Prey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2000, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2001, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Easy Prey
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (09/12/01)

Brooklyn
I generally found the story to be a compelling one and at times found it difficult to put the book down.
The storyline is intriguing and all the necessary elements seem
to be present, but the first person narrative is difficult
to digest in the context of this story. More distractingly, we have a female author writing in the first person as a male.
As a man, I found the author's perceptions of how a man thinks
to be somewhat far afield, in some cases somewhat two-dimensional,
and in other cases somewhat flamboyant.
This male character said things no man would say and made observations only those men confused about their sexuality might make. This might be acceptable in any character other than one offered as a gung-ho, he-man, stud muffin, which the lead male in this story is basically described
as being. I also felt the ending to be contrived and a seemingly lazy way to wrap up the loose ends of the tale.
Anonymous (08/09/01)

ViagraCat
Sandford is among the best at police procedural mysteries, but he tries too hard in this one. A couple of people get murdered at a drug-infested glam party and during the investigation by the ever-dogged Lucas Davenport, more questions than answers pop up as suspects meet their untimely demises & other unfortunate circumstances. But the premise really isn't that interesting in the first place, and it was hard to complete the book. Lucas is likeable, however, and Sandford knows how to get into his head. The usual snappy dialogue is there too. But this one is for die-hard Sandford fans only.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.