MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reader reviews and comments on Easy Prey, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Easy Prey

by John Sandford

Easy Prey by John Sandford X
Easy Prey by John Sandford
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2000, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2001, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Easy Prey
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!



Brooklyn
I generally found the story to be a compelling one and at times found it difficult to put the book down.
The storyline is intriguing and all the necessary elements seem
to be present, but the first person narrative is difficult
to digest in the context of this story. More distractingly, we have a female author writing in the first person as a male.
As a man, I found the author's perceptions of how a man thinks
to be somewhat far afield, in some cases somewhat two-dimensional,
and in other cases somewhat flamboyant.
This male character said things no man would say and made observations only those men confused about their sexuality might make. This might be acceptable in any character other than one offered as a gung-ho, he-man, stud muffin, which the lead male in this story is basically described
as being. I also felt the ending to be contrived and a seemingly lazy way to wrap up the loose ends of the tale.


ViagraCat
Sandford is among the best at police procedural mysteries, but he tries too hard in this one. A couple of people get murdered at a drug-infested glam party and during the investigation by the ever-dogged Lucas Davenport, more questions than answers pop up as suspects meet their untimely demises & other unfortunate circumstances. But the premise really isn't that interesting in the first place, and it was hard to complete the book. Lucas is likeable, however, and Sandford knows how to get into his head. The usual snappy dialogue is there too. But this one is for die-hard Sandford fans only.
  • Page
  • 1

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.