What readers think of Easy Prey, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Easy Prey

by John Sandford

Easy Prey by John Sandford X
Easy Prey by John Sandford
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2000, 384 pages

    Paperback:
    Feb 2001, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Easy Prey
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!



Brooklyn
I generally found the story to be a compelling one and at times found it difficult to put the book down.
The storyline is intriguing and all the necessary elements seem
to be present, but the first person narrative is difficult
to digest in the context of this story. More distractingly, we have a female author writing in the first person as a male.
As a man, I found the author's perceptions of how a man thinks
to be somewhat far afield, in some cases somewhat two-dimensional,
and in other cases somewhat flamboyant.
This male character said things no man would say and made observations only those men confused about their sexuality might make. This might be acceptable in any character other than one offered as a gung-ho, he-man, stud muffin, which the lead male in this story is basically described
as being. I also felt the ending to be contrived and a seemingly lazy way to wrap up the loose ends of the tale.


ViagraCat
Sandford is among the best at police procedural mysteries, but he tries too hard in this one. A couple of people get murdered at a drug-infested glam party and during the investigation by the ever-dogged Lucas Davenport, more questions than answers pop up as suspects meet their untimely demises & other unfortunate circumstances. But the premise really isn't that interesting in the first place, and it was hard to complete the book. Lucas is likeable, however, and Sandford knows how to get into his head. The usual snappy dialogue is there too. But this one is for die-hard Sandford fans only.
  • Page
  • 1

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.