Reader reviews and comments on The History of Love, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The History of Love

by Nicole Krauss

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss X
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2005, 252 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2006, 272 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for The History of Love
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Adam Spiby (11/16/07)

The History of Love
I adore this book.

I feel that it captures the human condition in a way that no book I have read before manages to. I would say that the story is perversely hopeful and ultimately life affirming.

I couldn't have consumed the final pages with more relish, and I certainly wasn't disappointed.

A beautiful book.
Aga Rzepecki (09/17/07)

Read my review
My favorite book.
Valerie (07/09/07)

Couldn't put it down...
I had heard of The History of Love through the grapevine, but didn't expect for it to be a book I couldn't put down. The first day I started reading it I read 175 pages, and barely managed to tear myself away from it then. Krauss' way of intertwining the lives of the characters was fabulous and kept me intrigued. There are many beautiful quotes and a wonderful message about compassion and love is conveyed through this novel. I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
A L Palmer (06/14/07)

History of Love Fabulous
If you have even half a brain you will enjoy this book immensely. This is not a book for the lighthearted quick reader, even though it is only 250 pages - if you are looking for a trashy novel buy one AND this book. However, it is a compelling book to read because it is all about humor and love. It is an easy read because the prose is so beautiful and hilarious. The characters are lovable and lend one to feeling compassion and hope for each one. This book has some parallels with Death of a Salesman, yet it reaches a higher level of happiness. You will not go away wondering why you read this book, or crying a depressed. You will go away feeling inspired, happy and pondering the history of love in you own life. FABULOUS!!!!!
Denise (04/15/07)

The History of Love
UGH - could it have been more difficult to try to follow what was going on in this book? It is painful when you must create a diagram to try to figure out who is who and how they relate to each other. The end was wholly unsatifying, as well. Our book club read this book based on so many great reviews. We ALL (20 of us) disliked it. One person appreciated the strange relationships between the people, but no one found it easy or enjoyable to read. I was sorry I wasted my time.
Frankie (04/09/07)

The best
This is by far, the most moving, emotion evoking and inspirational book I have read in a very long time. Krauss' craftsmanship is impeccable and beautiful. She uses everyday language in such a beautiful way that can leave you crying on one page and laughing out oud on another. Absolutely incredible. And a very easy read, which is also a plus. :)
Marcia from HK (02/25/07)

The History Of Love
One of the best books I have read in a while. I didn't want it to end! Great read; definitely a great deal to discuss if you are looking for a great book club read. Krauss writes beautifully!!!
Sydnee Elliot (12/12/06)

Incredible experience
I put off finishing this book for four days. I didn't want Leo and Alma and the rest of the characters to walk out of my life. When I finally did finish it, I held the book to my chest and fell asleep. This is what writing and reading is all about. When as a reader you can cry and laugh at the same time, and before closing the book for the last time chills run up and down your spine and the hair stands up on the back of your neck. As a writer, I don't want to write another word. Ms. Krauss has said it all.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...
  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund

"Electrifying . . . as beautiful and as icy as the Minnesota woods where it's set."
—NPR

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Story of Arthur Truluv
    by Elizabeth Berg

    An emotionally powerful novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.