Reader reviews and comments on Trojan Odyssey, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Trojan Odyssey

by Clive Cussler

Trojan Odyssey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2003, 496 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2004, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 5 reader reviews for Trojan Odyssey
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Judd (02/18/15)

Bad writing and editing, with some misogyny thrown in. Cussler should be ashamed.
I first read a Clive Cussler novel about 18 years ago. I took it for what it was, a fun and fast-paced action movie in the form of a book. I suspended my belief long enough to enjoy a bit of a daring hero romp, and that was fine. I looked to this book for more of the same and could not have been more disappointed.

Whoever edited this book needs reprimanded, or even fired. Some of the setting description repetition was jarring and the misuse of phrases and continuity errors were quite bad as well.

The outright misogyny was DEPLORABLE. I could let it slide that the bad guys were all girls and they were all smokin' hot. I forgave him for making Summer (the action hero's daughter) helpless and a damsel. I even let it go when the hard-core soldier guy makes some comment about how his hard-core shootykillers might need counselling after killing civilian women because they were “knockouts”.

But the comment about the German Scientist, held captive with her husband, was unforgivable. Call her matronly, grandmotherly or even say she's well-fed (though that's still rude) but for Dirk Pitt, hero extraordinaire, to look at this woman and comment to himself that she'll never fit a size sixteen dress is so incredibly sexist and rude it makes me sick. When I read that bit I wanted to throw the book from me as hard as possible, preferably at Cussler's face.

The comment, like most of the drivel that filled this novel, had absolutely NOTHING to do with the story, plot, situation or ANYTHING relevant. This novel is filled with those. While everybody gets introduced and described in detail, from an old car to a helicopter pilot, none of it ever has anything to do with the damn story.

Speaking of which, if Dirk Pitt can land in a helicopter after evading machine-gunning bad guys, hear a pilot (living in Nicaragua for years) say two things and identify the accent as Montanan only to have it be from neighbouring Wyoming, then I'll stand in front of Cussler and eat my goddam hat. What a bag of sh*t.

Same on you Cussler. This novel had promise, but you made the entire thing a bag of sh*t.
mlt (03/03/06)

Anti-Climactic
A build-up of the Odyssey myth that ends up nowhere. Implausible technological premise. Sensationalism seemingly contrived to cash in on prospective movie rights but doesn't work towards achieving a decent read.
Alan Braggins (02/17/05)

For me there were two major flaws in this book for me, but it's hard to say much about them without spoiling the plot. The first is the relationship between the opponent mentioned in the cover blurb and the unusual behaviour of the storm (also mentioned in the cover blurb). The second is some technology important to the plot, that simply could not possibly work as described in a way that should have been obvious to an agency like NUMA. I'm not talking about the sort of implausibility that comes with the genre (the overall plot, and the actual "Trojan" stuff (though living near some of the relevent locations does rather point out the silliness of that) are fine in that context), but the device in question is up there with faster than light starships for physical reality, and no-one even comments on it.
Nick (10/18/04)

All I have to say is wow, ok thats not all, but this book was awesome but after a while why wouldn't it be its Cussler And I also reccomend the Seahunters
Pat Delaney (02/19/04)

Cussler is so clever, he gets us to believe the impossible. I always enjoy his different slants on history. Dirk Pitt is getting older but he sure hasn't slowed down. He now has 2 offspring to help out. So there are some surprises in this fast moving novel for us Cussler fans. This book is definitely a winner after Cusslers last few 'also rans'.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

There are two kinds of light - the glow that illuminates, and the glare that obscures.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.