Reader reviews and comments on Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

Book 5

by J.K. (Joanne) Rowling

Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 870 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2004, 870 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 13
There are currently 103 reader reviews for Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joe Light (03/15/11)

Becoming a Harry Potter Fan
Muggles and Dementors do not mix, especially when they both want to kill Harry Potter. The story begins with a long series of problems that Harry seems to cause; being attacked by Dementors sent to kill him wasn’t really his idea of causing trouble. By using the wand, Harry was able to protect himself along with his Muggle cousin, Dudley. Unfortunately the School of Magic felt it necessary to expel Harry Potter from Hogwarts and suspend his wand. Eventually Dumbledore comes through and gets Harry out of this little mess with the School of Magic and is reinstated into Hogwarts. Throughout the year, newspapers have been writing stories about Harry and his inability to tell the truth. Now, none of his classmates trust him; they think of him to be more of a convict or a virus that is lethal. Pretty much every true story told in the past by Harry was switched around, making him sound like a crazy liar. These were just cover-ups in order to keep the existence of Lord Voldemort more of a myth rather than a fact as stated by Potter.

In this book we learn that suffering is part of growing up. Everyone suffers but it is how we deal with that suffering that really counts. The following quote is an example of Harry realizing that all must suffer and that he needs to suck it up and learn from it.

“Harry, suffering like this proves you are still a man! This pain is part of being human … the fact that you can feel pain like this is your greatest strength.”

I am new to the world of Harry Potter. To be honest this is the first book I have read in the series. Overall, I was very impressed with the description and story plot. I felt that this book was written in a way that involves all age groups of readers. True, I didn’t understand everything going on due to lack of knowledge of the past few books, but I really enjoyed the time spent reading The Order of the Phoenix. There are many values taught within the covers; values of friendship, loyalty, and trust that are portrayed page by page as the young students struggle to overcome the different obstacles set in front of them. We can all learn from and enjoy this amazing writing style as it opens our minds to new levels of thinking. Overall, I think everyone should experience the writing of J.K. Rowling because it truly opens up your imagination to new areas and heights. Sure, it’s long, but well worth your time.
Danny (01/19/11)

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
This book is amazing, It is very well written to keep you reading chapter after chapter. It is best for people who like mystery and action.
Jade (10/21/10)

Harry Potter
Harry Potter is a great story to read for those who can, and for me the most interesting of the series is probably the first book. J.K Rowling is an amazing writer and I wish the series went on forever. My least favorite book was sadly the Order of the Phoenix, because I thought it would be more interesting.
fly (07/10/08)

blah
I didn't like this book nearly as much as the last one...Ii especially don't like Cho!!! She makes me mad! And the beginning was kinda slow..but I read it for the sake of finishing the series.
Theresa (12/29/05)

bleh
my family all love harry potter but this is the worst one of them all!!
Larissa (10/24/05)

WOW!
The book is awsome! YOU SHOULD READ IT!!!! I think Daniel Radcliff is a good actor and is ....(good looking 2!) READ IT! trust me it's really super duper good
ami** (08/16/05)

hp
it was an extreeeeemly gripping story....i simply loved it!I can't wait for the next 1...the half blood prince tied alot of why voldomort existed till now together! i feel bad for dumbledore though!!
definetly 5 out of 5
xxxxx
Amanda (02/21/05)

I just finished the book last night and it put a huge damper on my entire fun-filled weekend! How could you kill off <<edited for plot spoiler content>>. I just can't believe it happened...I'm looking for something pretty amazing next book to make up for that bad decision!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Marriage of Opposites
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's latest work, The Marriage of Opposites, is a historical fiction novel focusing on ...
  • Book Jacket: Miss Jane
    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson
    National Book Award Finalist Brad Watson returns with an intimate novel about one woman's journey to...
  • Book Jacket: Dinner with Edward
    Dinner with Edward
    by Isabel Vincent
    In late 2009 Isabel Vincent and her family were still newcomers to New York City. She and her ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Falling
    by Jane Green

    "Readers who enjoy a love story with heart will adore this tale of homecoming and transformation." - LJ

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All Is Not Forgotten
    by Wendy Walker

    This is fast-paced psychological suspense/thriller at it's very best.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!