Reader reviews and comments on Crescent, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Crescent

by Diana Abu-Jaber

Crescent
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Crescent
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Sarah W. (10/26/14)

A love story within another culture
I gave this book three stars because I liked the descriptive talents on display here. The author describes food and the preparation of it in such lyrical terms I could almost see myself in Sirine's kitchen workplace, ministering to customers and guests with her irreplaceable talents, bringing lost bits of home to displaced Middle Easterners and others who come into the cafe. What I became tired of was the use of this story as a platform for thinly veiled political points designed to disparage the country (USA) in which the characters live. The atrocities that had forced many of them from their home country to this one, although committed by their own leaders, are blamed on shadowy American agents with no substantive historical argument regarding the rise to power of Saddam Hussein or his ruthless handling of the Iraqi people. Ultimately I was unable to relate to the love affair in the context of the Arab-American identity crisis experienced by Sirine, as it was so immersed in the local Middle Eastern culture and seemed to me largely separate from the surrounding American "melting pot" community.
a wise reader (10/21/11)

poor choice for college course credit
I was excited to get started on this book for my college course. We were studying different types of literature-this was a required read and we were to write a paper on it. The paper required us to read the whole book.I would have put it down if I had the choice. The stories Sirine's uncle tells in great -detail take away from the story itself. I would have loved to have had more of Han's story in the end. The last three or so chapters had me on the edge of my seat. With that said, I do not feel this type of reading should ever be required of any student-no matter the age. Simply because it was slightly pornographic. Too many details of Sirine's romps made me feel uncomfortable - and I dread that we have to discuss this book in public. But of course I do not think the writer ever intended for her novel to be used in the way I have had to. Word to teachers or professors out there - this is not a wise choice of classroom literature to open yous students' minds to the world outside their own.The romantic trysts were totally inappropriate for students to be forced to read. I am 38 years old and married with a young daughter and now I have to explain why she shouldn't read this book after I have finished it.
Susan (09/06/11)

Poorly Written
To sum up my review...it was a poorly written book. It didn't grab my attention/interest, which I'd like a book to do right from the beginning. I'm surprised this book was basically published. A friend gave me the book & said she didn't like it either so I thought I'd read it. Now I know exactly what she's referring to. I've read so many good books in my life and this book shouldn't even be on the bookshelf in the library.
Sarah Martin (11/28/10)

Culture Shock
It took me 9 months to be able to finish this book. I love to read and when I start a book I refuse to not read it all the way through regardless of like or dislike of it. It was so hard to begin to get interested in this book mainly because none of the text was familiar to me. I kept reading and kept reading and eventually feel in love around the very end/beginning of part two. The only bad thing I have to say is I think another ending should be written, one with more information about Han and his escape. Although while saying this I am reminded of Sirine's uncle saying
"Because people crave the beauty of not knowing, the excitement of suggestions, and the sweet tragedy of mystery. In other words, Habeebti, you must never tell everything."
Proud Mom (09/15/10)

NOT OK FOR KIDS!!!!
Although it may be a well written and thought provoking book...but....with that being said, it is NOT appropriate for minors, children. "Soft porn" is how many of us describe this book and we had it officially removed from our school's curriculum.
Josh Graham (02/22/04)

Middle Eastern culture shining through at its fullest.
FRED (01/13/04)

Every word and image earns its place in this intelligent and affecting novel by Diana Abu-Jaber. A must-read.
  • Page
  • 1

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.