Reader reviews and comments on Clara Callan, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Clara Callan

A Novel

by Richard B. Wright

Clara Callan by Richard B. Wright
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2002, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2003, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for Clara Callan
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jim Mann (02/26/07)

Fictional Towns
In Richard B Wright's book, he lists Whitfield as the Callan's birthplace.This exists, northeast of Shelburn on Regional 17. I can find no town of Linden in the area. He also mentions Uxbridge and other points South. The only town similar sounding is Lynden, near Dundas; which cannot be right. He says "the places are fictional, but why only Linden? All the others are on the Ontario Map......................Just wondering. Excellent story though. I picked it because of the title (the year I was born).I will have to read the 1908 book to check for similarities.
Merissa (01/07/05)

I truly enjoyed the book. Its difficult for me to get into books and this one had my attention right away. It was a very true feeling story. I felt like a fly on the wall watching the lives of Clara and her sister. I really enjoyed the book.
Kalenna (11/01/04)

I needed to pick an award winning book written by a Canadian author. I found the book to be very enjoyable and it made the mid to late 30's come to life for me. The further into the book I went the more I realized that the main charaters were extremely more complicated then I first thought. I throughly enjoyed reading this novel, but I found the Afterword to be a regression of the depth of character in Clara returning her to the distant and seemingly cold character she looked to be in the beginning of the novel.
katherine (10/12/04)

I read this book as part of my choice for a novel study in grade 12. I found this idea of writing letters back and forth, among journal/dairy entries to be very intelligent. you are able to hear the voice of all characters come through in their letters, and along with the letters and journal entries Clara really comes through as a strong character. I found this book to be very interesting, and an amazing read. the detail was great. :). I would suggest this to anyone who has the patience to appriciate each letter and entry.
m. handley (10/05/04)

I was required to read this book for an English class. Initially, I found it slow going, but as the story progressed I was drawn into the lives of the Callan sisters. It was a story of the country mouse versus the city mouse. Who was happier? The novel is done in diary form and also includes letters written and recieved by the sisters. This book feeds ones voyeristic guilty pleasures. You get to know these ladies on different levels from what they actually write to each other, and their fears and secrets that they write in their jounals. I enjoyed this book. The time the story is set in (mostly the 1930's) that adds interest. These women are dealing with problems that still exsist today, but they are in a different decade with different mores. It made me wonder what choices I would have made were I in their shoes.
Beckie (04/18/04)

This book was a required reading in a univeristy English course, and so happy to have had the opportunity to be introduced to it. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know the Callan sister's and the unique aspects of their lives. Mr. Wright has accomplished an amazing task in his writing style and tone throughout the book. I highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a great page turner.
Corie-Anne Gonyer (03/13/03)

This is a wonderful story told in an interestin and unique style. I loved it and this comming from someone who reads short stoies or almost reads nothin at all. It captures your attention and hlds on to it til the very end. It the kind of book that maked you feel uncomforable and uneasy while reading, that's what a good writer is suppose to make you feel. Congradulations on your success and if Mr. Wright's "Farthing Fortunes" is as any good as "Clara Callan" then I am in for a ride.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: If We Were Villains
    If We Were Villains
    by M L. Rio
    22 out of 28 of our reviewers rated If We Were Villains four or five stars, giving it an overall ...
  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -