Read what people think about Sentinel by Matthew Dunn, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Sentinel

A Spycatcher Novel

by Matthew Dunn

Sentinel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2012
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 24 reader reviews for Sentinel
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cassandra E. (Fort Myers, Florida) (07/23/12)

Sentinel by Matthew Dunn
As a spy novel this was very good. It was easy to follow- although the Russian names and places were hard to follow at first. I haven't read the first in the series and I lost some of the background. But I really enjoyed it. It was a fast moving story that kept me wanting to read the next chapter. The story of a disgruntled spy that decided to start a war between the U.S. and Russia was different and kept you wondering who, what and why. I now want to read the first in the series. I hope the hardcover has included maps- I always feel that maps let you know where you are going in the story.
Judith M. (San Diego, CA) (07/07/12)

Cold Spies
I just could not get interested in Sentinel. The first few pages were exciting, but afterwards the story dragged on until I finally gave up. Although the author seemed to know his facts, I just did not care about the characters so failed to form any emotional attachment to them. I gave it a 3 because I felt real dedicated espionage readers might find something to their liking that I did not.
Power Reviewer Mary O. (Boston, MA) (07/07/12)

Page turner
Will Cochrane is a memorable Cold War character and you feel like you know him as you are ensconced in the book. A typical British spy thriller that makes you want to read it in one sitting. A perfect summer beach read!!
Judith P. (Rosebud, Missouri) (07/04/12)

Not enought character development
This is one of my favorite genre of book. This author has not created a main character that the reader care about or wants to know what is happening next. There is a lot of technical detail but very little of the human element.Perhaps the authors share too much in common with his main character. Deal well with situations but not in touch with people.
Darlene C. (Woodstock, IL) (07/02/12)

A tired premise
Spy books about the cold war with Russia seem dated and out of sync to me. I enjoy spy books and this one was well written if that is your bag. It is fast-paced and gives a view of the unglamorous side of being an undercover agent. f you don't mind the old Russia vs. US theme this would be a great summer read
LiteraryLinda Wyoming (06/28/12)

Sentinel and His Surprise
Yes, there is a surprise ending which I never expected. I must admit I had trouble getting "into" this book. It probably had to do with being so busy that I read only a few minutes at a time. Once I was free of commitment, I began to like the book and ended up enjoying it. Reading spy thrillers is my forte; hence, my surprise at having trouble getting into it. Will Cochrane is quite a spy and I enjoyed his abilities. He seems to be well-trained in his various skills, yet he does have some warmness, though not much. He is such a harsh and evil-seeming man whose harsh methods could only be honed to efficiency by his hard work and his loyalty to his country. I think anyone who enjoys spy thrillers will enjoy this book. Thanks for the opportunity to read it.
Mark B. (Jackson, MI) (06/28/12)

Sentinel, a Thriller
Set in a modern-day "cold war" Sentinel takes place in Russia and eastern Europe as CIA/MI6 agents rush to find who is killing their double agents -- a man who wants to start the nuclear war to end all wars. I am not a big fan of nuclear war novels, but found myself drawn into the single life of Will and his mission. A compassionate, yet well-trained MI6 agent, Will seeks out his captured friend to help resolve the impending war. Filled with travels throughout Europe and Russia, Sentinel is a good read for a long winter night. My one complaint with the author was his bouncing back and forth between metric and US scales, most particularly MPH/KPH. Being set in Eastern Europe and Russia, I would stick with the metric conversion. All in all, I recommend it if you don't mind a lot of killing and some visual gore.
Carolyn L. (Summerville, SC) (06/25/12)

Sentinel
This book held my attention and moved along quickly. There could have been more character development, but it probably would have helped if I had read the first novel, Spycatcher, beforehand (and I intend to read it). All of the Russian names and places, as well as the acronyms, made it a little hard to follow at times, but on the whole, I thought it was a good thriller.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Opposite of Everyone
by Joshilyn Jackson

"Quirky and appealing characters, an engaging story, and honest dialogue make this a great book!"
- BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: A Great Reckoning
    A Great Reckoning
    by Louise Penny
    Canadian author Louise Penny is back with her twelfth entry in the Chief Inspector Armand Gamache ...
  • Book Jacket: Homegoing
    Homegoing
    by Yaa Gyasi
    It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
  • Book Jacket: When Breath Becomes Air
    When Breath Becomes Air
    by Paul Kalanithi
    When Breath Becomes Air is the autobiography of Paul Kalanithi, written in the time period between ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Victoria
    by Daisy Goodwin

    Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit." - Amanda Foreman

    Read Member Reviews

Who Said...

When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay:
$400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.