MLA Gold Award Site

Read what people think about The Paris Winter by Imogen Robertson, and write your own review.

Summary | Discuss | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Paris Winter

by Imogen Robertson

The Paris Winter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2016
    368 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 7
There are currently 49 reader reviews for The Paris Winter
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

katherinep (03/31/16)

A Lackluster Winter in Paris
Received this book from BookBrowse, an online book club, to read and then discuss starting on Feb 18. I found the story interesting sometimes but at other times long and drawn out. The first part of the book, especially, was slow moving and I really didn't understand the ending at all.

While the situations of the three girls who form the central characters of the " good " people were fairly well defined, the girls themselves were not well developed. The second part of the book then took off and the plot was moving smoothly and much of the confusion of the first part was cleared up. Yet, eventually, the plot began to drag again and my interest waned. The " evil " plotting characters were even less defined, especially Sophie.

There was much background information missing--such as, how was it possible Tanya fell in love with and became engaged to the handsome American? We never saw very much of him. How did Sophie and Morel meet? Were Maud and Yvette romantically involved? And why did Robertson make the two American characters so brusque and somewhat less refined than the Russian, British and even the street urchin, Yvette?

All in all it was an okay read, but not a book I'd find myself recommending to friends or rereading. For that matter, it will probably not be one I'll even remember in the next few months
Power Reviewer Betty Taylor (03/11/16)

Slow Start but Worth the Wait
I thoroughly enjoyed this historical mystery. It is set in Paris in 1909/1910 among the artists. There is a mixture of the “poor starving artists” and the higher class clientele. Young, naïve Maud Heighton came to Paris’ Academie to study painting and to get away from her small town life. Maud soon falls into poverty. She comes upon a golden opportunity. Christian Morel hires her to teach his sister Sylvie English. She can board with them and earn a generous salary. However she soon learns that the Morels are not who they claim to be. Maud is soon drawn into the dark, dangerous underworld of Paris. Friendships are tested, lives are endangered.

I found the book to have a very slow start (hence the four stars, instead of five). I almost gave up on it but am very glad I did not. Once it got going (around page 142) it kept me engrossed. I love the characters – derelict Yvette, aristocratic Tanya, the Countess. It was a delightful blend of personalities. I could easily envision these very different personalities interacting. It is the perfect blend of female friendships, love, greed, and especially revenge.
Power Reviewer Dorothy L (02/21/16)

An Enjoyable Read
I really liked this book! After a bit of a slow start, it kept me very engaged. I liked the plot line, setting of Paris, and thought the characters were well drawn and had depth. I enjoyed reading about this period in history and liked the depictions of women artists and the struggles they had. I would definitely recommend this book but probably only to people who enjoy reading about art and this period.
Jeanne W (01/27/16)

Plot twist in the middle!
A young English woman is in Paris to become an artist in 1909. Of course she is poor and struggling, because otherwise where would the story be? She becomes a paid companion to a young women in poor health. Then comes something I absolutely didn't see coming and the whole novel turns on its head. Very evocative of the Parisian Belle Epoque age and bound to appeal to historical fiction fans.
Roe P (11/12/14)

Didnt quite do it for me....
I found this book difficult to get into and even well into the book I found I really wasn't caring much about the main character, Maud. The story takes place in the art world of 1909 and the Paris life. I will admit the book did pick up after the first 50-75 pages...but unfortunately just not the kind of book I would recommend.
Mary B. (St Paul, MN) (08/13/14)

The Paris Winter
I very much enjoyed the start of The Paris Winter. The story of Paris in the early 1900's and the art world was very descriptive. Strong characters, especially female, were introduced. Then I started to feel that the story was not going anywhere. I'm glad I continued with it because very soon the story line was able to draw me in again and I found it hard to put down.
Samantha H. (Golden, CO) (08/10/14)

Pulls you right in
The Paris Winter by Imogen Robertson is an engaging, well written novel. It gives you a window into the art world as it existed for women painters during the age of Impressionism as you follow the lives of three unlikely friends. Well developed characters help pull you in to this fascinating story about struggle, friendship and revenge.
Lydia M. (Lakeview, OR) (08/07/14)

Left me cold
Right off the top upon seeing the cover of the book I was disappointed. I thought it was poorly done,,seemed like an airport quick buy for the long trip.
I admit it was with that attitude that I began the book. It started slowly with no real 'grab effect'..and I put it down a number of times not pleased with the story. Historical fiction is my go-to book but I found myself not warming to this Winter tale.
I found as the novel progressed it captured my interest a bit more..but it never did grab me. The description of the story plot was more interesting.

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The North Water
    The North Water
    by Ian McGuire
    In early 1859 the crew of the Volunteer, a Greenland-bound whaler, is making the most of the last ...
  • Book Jacket: City of Secrets
    City of Secrets
    by Stewart O'Nan
    In his new novel, City of Secrets, Stewart O'Nan spins a tale of espionage and intrigue as ...
  • Book Jacket: The Atomic Weight of Love
    The Atomic Weight of Love
    by Elizabeth Church
    A prologue set in 2011 introduces readers to this novel's unforgettable narrator. Meridian ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Children
    by Ann Leary

    With remarkable wit and insight, Ann Leary pulls back the curtain on one blended family.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Win this book!
Win The Weekenders

The Perfect Summer Escape!

Told with Mary Kay Andrews' trademark blend of humor and warmth.

Enter

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Word Play

Solve this clue:

B A Usual

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.