MLA Gold Award Site

Read what people think about Her by Harriet Lane, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Her

by Harriet Lane

Her
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2015
    320 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 46 reader reviews for Her
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Shirley F. (Franksville, WI) (06/22/14)

Unlikely friends
The characters were interesting and well developed and I liked the tension of Her. I thought that the friendship was unlikely -the main women really have very little in common - and the reason for the stalking did not seem to be something that Nina need to obsess about for 20 yrs. However, my main dislike was the retelling of the story and I don't think it added to the plot; this made it take too long to get to the heart of the story. The climax thus became weak - actually I'm not sure where it came from.
Elisabeth W. (Durham, NC) (06/18/14)

A Tale of Manipulation
This interesting book, told in tandem points of view, is a tale of manipulation and revenge. The author immediately brings the reader in on the manipulation and what the manipulator is trying to accomplish. The frustrating part was that you don't find out the why until the last 10 pages of the book - and the why was a big, anticlimactic let down. That said, the story was intriguing enough that I kept reading to get to the why, though I think I would have given up had it been any longer. This book is targeted for women 25.
Tracey S. (Largo, FL) (06/16/14)

book of revenge
I enjoyed the book, but thought it took quite a while for the author to tell us why Nina had it in for Emma and why she was trying to get back at her for something that had happened years ago. The ending was terrible as I felt it should have gone on to tell us what happened to the little boy and how it affected Emma and her family.
Laurie H. (Stuart, FL) (06/15/14)

Her ~ a puzzle
The format of this book kept me intrigued and interested. I was pleasantly surprised when the thread finally pulled through so to speak. I found it curious that the book ended where it did. What became of these two women once Emma realized what had happened between them? Also, what of Christopher? Many questions about this book. I'd love to read and discuss this with my book club.
Kathleen B. (Las Vegas, NV) (06/15/14)

Slow Going
I usually read a book in two days. This one took forever because I kept putting it down. It dragged so badly. Many books I have read have alternating narrators, and I usually enjoy this. Emma and Nina when alternating were giving too much of the same information. Nina was a sociopath intent on repaying Emma for a wrong she committed as a teenager. It was so minor as to be missed by anyone. The nasty and sometimes criminal acts Nina performed on Emma's family were entertaining. The ending of the book was shocking. I can't really recommend this book because there is so many good books out there to be read, why suffer through 100 pages till you start enjoying the book?
Caryl B. (Portage, MI) (06/12/14)

Her
Harriet Lane's novel Her took me awhile to decide if I wanted to keep reading it but I am glad I stuck with it as I like novels with suspense and this book didn't disappoint. I might have written a different ending for this book instead of a cliffhanger, I will be recommending we read this at a future book club.
Mary O. (Boston, MA) (06/12/14)

Slow but engaging
A very slow start which had me re-reading the first few chapters. I expected a more compelling thriller and better character development. The storyline was interesting but needed more "oomph". I would recommend it as a quick beach read!!!!
Jessica D. (Bemidji, MN) (06/08/14)

Disappointing
I was disappointed with this book. It took the author a long time to get where she was going and it didn't seem to make a lot of sense. I could have understood Nina's anger and revenge a bit better if Emma had had an affair with her father but that wasn't the case. And Emma never realized who Nina was?? That seems a bit of a stretch. Not one of my favorite books, unfortunately.

More Information

Readalikes

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Saving Montgomery Sole
    Saving Montgomery Sole
    by Mariko Tamaki
    Understanding identity is one the most important parts of adolescence. For some teenagers, those who...
  • Book Jacket: All Tomorrow's Parties
    All Tomorrow's Parties
    by Rob Spillman
    In this absorbing memoir, co-founder of Tin House magazine, Rob Spillman, recalls his artistic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Never-Open Desert Diner
    The Never-Open Desert Diner
    by James Anderson
    James Anderson's debut novel, The Never-Open Desert Diner, starts off as an entertaining ...
Win this book!
Win The 100 Year Miracle

50 Copies to Give Away!

The 100 Year Miracle is a rich, enthralling novel, full of great characters.

Enter

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Fair Fight
by Anna Freeman

A page-turning novel set in the world of 18th century female pugilists.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Dark Lady's Mask
    by Mary Sharratt

    Based on the life of the first professional woman poet in Renaissance England, and her collaboration with Shakespeare.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Alaskan Laundry
    by Brendan Jones

    A fresh debut novel about a young woman who moves to Alaska and finds herself through the hard work of fishing.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I A Sign O T T

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.