Read what people think about Madapple by Christina Meldrum, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Madapple by Christina Meldrum
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2008
    416 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Madapple
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Leslie (11/10/11)

Awesome!
i totally loved this book. Every page was filled with an adventure. the book was like an addiction to me i could not put it down! Love the mystery and twist it has to it. It should absolutely become a movie i would watch it.! Overall it was a very good book.
sarah doerr (08/02/10)

solomon's seal
I thought this was a very unpredictable but extraordinaire book with a twist.
Becky. (05/14/10)

This is great.!.
I love this book. It was interesting and it made me think. The other languages being used in it was kind of weird though, despite that I love it. This should become a movie the audiences would love it!
Brandy Nichole Noel (04/30/10)

What is a Madapple ?
Madapple is a strange book and hard to follow at times, but it is one to keep the mind running at all times. It has a slow start but it is worth the mystery in the end. Madapple will keep you puzzling till the very end and still after. A very good book, that I will pass on to friends and family. I recomend this book highly for anyone who has questions about their own life and wonder why there life is so out of wack, because I guarantee that aslaugs life is more twisted than you can imagine and getting worse everyday. A madapple is more than some kind of plant/drug it is the title to a life that changes everyday and can not know what to expect, not even the unexpected.
Kathleen (05/01/08)

Madapple: Captivating and Complex
Madapple is a very good read and evoked many emotions in me. I was captivated by the characters in this story and at times, was even willing to suspend rational thinking and accept the "miracle birth". The terrible truth took me by surprise, which hopefully is more indicative of the author's skill than my naivety. I highly recommend this book to adults and mature teens , especially those who are interested in herbs, complex relationships, and the dichotomy between religion and science. The subject matter may be disturbing to some readers and if you don't care about herbs, this book might be hard to enjoy, but Madapple is sure to generate a great discussion.
Margaret (04/29/08)

Madapple
I eagerly began this book looking forward to a mystery built around a mystical premise of birth as well as a trial. The author deftly moves from Asslang's life to her trial for murder and arson. However, as a reader, I soon became bogged down in the details of the medicinal plants, the history and uses of them. I doubt that would maintain the interest of many of our young readers.
Monica (04/21/08)

Madapple
I originally requested this book for my 15 year old daughter to read and review,but she couldn't get into it so I decided to try to read it. I have to admit that I started the book with a negative bias, but I soon found myself pulled into the story and ended up enjoying it quite a bit.

The storyline and characters are somewhat timeless and mystical, but the characters interactions make for a very compelling read. I especially liked the dynamics between the young adults and their elders. The author's method of interweaving the courtroom scene into the story kept the book grounded in the present. The main story was very surreal.

The author has an impressive knowledge of ancient religions and medicinal plants and I found a lot of the material fascinating. But, it is precisely these subjects that would keep me from recommending this book to anyone under the age of 18.
Kristin (04/19/08)

Strange
This book was very strange! The subject matter did not seem appropriate for young readers. This book made subjects like, incest, teen pregnancy, and pagan rituals seem okay. I thought the characters were odd and could not identify with their strange lifestyles at all. The only thing I did like was the courtroom drama. I only kept reading to see what would happen next in the trial.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dark Flood Rises
    The Dark Flood Rises
    by Margaret Drabble
    Margaret Drabble, the award-winning novelist and literary critic who is approaching eighty and ...
  • Book Jacket: All Our Wrong Todays
    All Our Wrong Todays
    by Elan Mastai
    You need a great deal of time to read All Our Wrong Todays, but don't let that put you off. ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -