Reader reviews and comments on Monsoon, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Monsoon

by Wilbur Smith

Monsoon by Wilbur Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1999, 613 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2000, 822 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 reader reviews for Monsoon
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Marquis (01/29/04)

I think what really made this book good for me, was that I did not know what was going to happen next. I had a general idea, but the way the plot worked was very good an unexpected, if not excellent. At one point in the book I wondered how there could be another 500 pages to read, only to discover an unexpected twist and significant turn of the story. The author's imagination is fantastic. This is one book that should be FORBIDDEN to be made into a movie. A movie could not do this justice.
Oli John (01/26/03)

Awesome book. Awesome author.
Daniel (01/19/03)

This book is just so great. I grabbed it from my mothers cabinet, and once I started it I couldnt stop and 2 days later without any sleep or contact to the outside of my room I finnished Monsoon. When I turned the last page I got the feeling, I want to know what happends next, give me more words, darn it.
Wilbur is very good in making you understand the characters and to describe their surrounding. Anyway, read it. I didnt even know there was a prequel, guess what book I am gonna buy next.
Gareth Walters (01/11/03)

Mr Smith has done better, the story was predictable, the story lines could be antisapated. This took away the allur of the book.
Guchi (01/06/03)

In all my life, I have never had an author to read such as Wilbur Smith. Where he stores these stories in his mind, I don't know, but where ever it is, it certainly contains a vast treasure of limitless creativity.
Gonzalo (10/25/02)

Ethnocentric and barely entertaining. In many aspect is a mere replay of "Birds of Prey" a generation after.
Anonymous (08/13/01)

Dave
Just finished reading Monsoon. It took all of four days to get through the
950ish pages; I just couldn't put the darned thing down. This is an all too
common affliction where Mr Smith's books are concerned!
It met all my expectations and more and is yet another fine work by a master
storyteller at the peak of his craft.
I can scarcely wait for the next installment!
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Steve
One of the best books I have ever read. A swashbuckling adventure in the finest tradition. This is a book I could not put down. After I finished I wanted more.
Also for Maria: Concerning the prophecy - It is FICTION. Don't take the story as factual please. Fiction writers invent stories, at least that is what I believe the word fiction means.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Islamic Enlightenment
    The Islamic Enlightenment
    by Christopher de Bellaigue
    In this comprehensive and well-researched history, de Bellaigue examines the evolution of Islamic ...
  • Book Jacket: The Leavers
    The Leavers
    by Lisa Ko
    The day before Deming Guo saw his mother for the last time, she surprised him at school. A navy blue...
  • Book Jacket: Wonderful Feels Like This
    Wonderful Feels Like This
    by Sara Lovestam
    High school is hard; or perhaps, more accurately, growing up and finding oneself is hard. This is ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Scribe of Siena
    by Melodie Winawer

    Equal parts transporting love story, meticulously researched historical fiction, and compelling time-travel narrative.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Chalk Pit

The Chalk Pit:
A Ruth Galloway Mystery

A string of murders takes Ruth underground in the newest book in the series.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T W Don't M A R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -