Reader reviews and comments on The Last Full Measure, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Full Measure

by Jeff Shaara

The Last Full Measure
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 1998, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    May 1999, 560 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 7 reader reviews for The Last Full Measure
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

fdhdfh (08/27/03)

this book was awesome
Sanjeet S. Parab (01/18/03)

I feel that Jeff has lived up to his dad's name. By far one of the best books I have ever read. I am not a real big reader and it takes a lot to interest, but when I read Killer Angels I loved it. At first when I bought Jeff's bood Gods and Generals I believed there to be no way for this book to be as good as his father's but so far it is. Although I am not finished with Gods and Generals I went out and bought The Last Full Measure hoping it to be as good. I would like to see more by Jeff.
Kate (08/19/02)

I found this book to be excellent. The accounts of all the men, on both sides were moving. Before reading this book, I had no true understanding of the war; thought it was a war of the North, fighting for what was right, and the South fighting to keep the right to enslave people. I found how wrong I was throughout Gods and Generals, The Killer Angels, and The Last Full Measure. The accouts of Robert E. Lee, Ulysses Grant, and especially Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain have frequently moved me to tears.
Jeremy Sproat (07/03/02)

I feel that Jeff Sharra has lived up to his dads name. By far one of the best books i read. I am not a real big reader and it takes a lot to interest me,but when i read The Killer Angels I loved it. At first when I bought Jeffs book Gods And Generals I believed there to be no way for this book to be as good as his fathers but so far it is. Although I am not finished with Gods and Generals i went out and bought The Last Full Measure hoping it to be as good. I would like to see more by Jeff.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Chris Keeton
"The Last Full Measure" brilliantly captures the brutality and humanity of the last years of the Civil War. It can be witnessed through the eyes of the key players in America's greatest test the motivation and desire to conclude the war with as much haste as possible. It is also easily seen that a simple difference in viewpoint can turn brothers into enemies.
Jeff Shaara uses not only a talent for writing, but a true 'one-on-one' relationship with the characters to shape the human side of the conflict. We see through the loss of so many integral people in Lee's army, such as J.E.B. Stuart and A.P. Hill, the Southern Army begins to lose much of itself. While its spirit is never conquered, the force of the Federal army is overwhelming. We also see how one decision from Lincoln, the choice of U.S. Grant to lead the Union forces, changed not only tactics, but brought about a new urgency on both sides to stop at nothing until victory was achieved.
Jeff Shaara places the reader in the middle of the conflict, making the decisions and emotions of the main characters as modern as if it were happening today. Shaara brings to a new light a moment of American history that altered this country forever. His courage, humanity, emotion, and talent come together to present a novel that, while not taking sides, makes the reader a part of a living history.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Susan
Jeff Shaara creates a successful sequel to his fathers book The Killer Angels. Shaara greater success was the transformation of his father book into the movie Gettysburg. We hope to soon see both the prequel, Gods and Generals, and the sequel The Last Full Measure make their appearance as Movies.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Dan
This is a great book. While Gods and Generals sometimes had the fault of a lack of detail, this book covers only two years of the war, and is therefore able to express more detail. Grant's character is portrayed excellently, while old friends Chamberlain and Lee are always welcome. He dramatically portrays the command conflicts in the Union army, while poignantly telling the story of Lee's commanders, as they all eventually meet ruin.
Chamberlain's rise is a feel good touch. The character of John Gordon is interesting, and it would be nice to have a book come out on him, as well. All in all, Shaara's best book so far.
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.