Reader reviews and comments on Standing In The Rainbow, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Standing In The Rainbow

by Fannie Flagg

Standing In The Rainbow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 reader reviews for Standing In The Rainbow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joan M Burke (04/08/16)

It's Better Than Very Good
I've been doing a lot of reading lately (because of access to a lot of books (I work in Model Homes) and this book is unbelievably good. True-life great moments and lots of laughs. Wish it had been made into a movie. Kathy Bates would have had to have a part in it. Give me more time and Ill come up with others that should star in it but definitely Kathy Bates as Dorothy.
Pbarton (03/23/16)

The Arch correction
The book is interesting, but in reading it It is supposed to take place in the 40's and I hope everyone realizes that when Bobby goes to the baseball game in St Louis the Arch was not finished until 1965, so they could not have seen it gleaming; in fact the Arch just had its 50 year anniversary
Anonymous (01/29/05)

I have been an avid reader since age 8, but when I finished reading Standing In the Rainbow I did something I have never done before; I turned back to page 1 and read it all over again.
Keith Chawgo (08/04/03)

I have just finished reading 'Standing in the Rainbow' and all I have to say is what a brilliant and awe inspiring work. I felt that I had become a part of these characters lives and the changes for which each character undergoes was trully magically intertwined with real life. The author was able to take fictional characters in a realistic timeframe and intergrate them to the most amazing tapestry of a time gone by, from the loss of innocence of days gone by to the changing times of the modern world that we now live in. It made a cynic like me wonder with all the technology at our finger tips that we have lost the spirit of community and caring for one another. It made me yearn for a time that I had not even been part of. This is a great book to recommend to anyone interested in real life proposed in a fictional world. Fannie Flagg is a true master at work and I was lost in her world and can't wait to see what she writes next. The only downfall of the book is that when it is finished, I, personally, feel that I have lost a community and a host of friends. I hated it to end and would love to go back to Elmswood Springs and discover new slices of Americana life. A true gem.
Anonymous (05/26/03)

simply brilliant...
Anonymous (02/13/03)

Fannie Flagg brings a past era to life in such vivid detail that we who were not alive during that era look back upon it with a great deal of nostlgia. Each character becomes a friend and at novels end we feel that we have lost something wonderful. Walsh.
Alice (11/27/02)

Good Read. Very relaxing. Light, but yet with little twists you don't see coming. The characters really came to life for me, and I became addicted to each one.
Ricky Kopp (11/06/02)

This was one of the best books I have read in years. I couldn't wait to get back to it each night and see what was going to happen next.
The characters began to feel like family and friends.
Thanks to Fannie for a wonderful time.
Would also make a great movie.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.