Read what people think about Precious Thing by Colette McBeth, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Precious Thing

by Colette McBeth

Precious Thing by Colette McBeth
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Mar 2014
    304 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 reader reviews for Precious Thing
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Carrie (04/21/16)

The Precious Thing
I didn't get it. I didn't know who was the bad guy. At the end Clara makes you think that Rachel is seeing things differently but if you remember the events from the beginning, it doesn't seem that way. The book in general keeps you guessing without revealing anything in the end. I got that its a long letter so if that's the catch then that's very good because its only one point of view.
Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY) (02/20/14)

Precious Thing
I found this to be a very enjoyable psychological thriller and mystery. Written as a series of letters to her best friend, the point of view is obviously very narrow, which as some have pointed out, can make for an unreliable narrator. And that, to me, is what made it so interesting. There were numerous twists & turns in the plot and as the story went on, it got darker and darker.

I will certainly be looking for more from Ms. McBeth.
Wendy W. (Ann Arbor, MI) (02/13/14)

Rough start, but smooth finish
I had a hard time getting into this book. The literary device of writing the story as if it is a letter to somebody took me while to get used to. However, what starts as a pedestrian missing person story eventually turns into an intriguing psychological thriller with a twisty conclusion.
Wendy R. (Pewaukee, Wisconsin) (02/12/14)

Sure of your Best Friend?
Even when you think you know your best friend, have shared poignant moments and would do anything for her, life has a way of surprising you. Whether you were blinded by love for her, never asked the right questions or thought silence speaks volumes, this book will take you down a path you never expected. I was smitten from the beginning wondering how well I knew my best friend. The plot twists and turns into darkness with plenty of psychological intrigue. I would highly recommend to book clubs for thought provoking discussion. Is she really your best friend or are you being used at all costs, even human life.
Gail I. (Delray Beach, FL) (02/12/14)

Intriguing
Comparisons aside to Gone Girl, this book has a unique style and will be one you cannot put down. I like books about friendship and how people change over the years. I found it to be an interesting novel.
Teresa H. (Mechanicsville, VA) (01/30/14)

Rather Twisted
If I had the option I would give this 2.5 stars. It is slightly more deserving than a 2 if for no other reason it held my interest to the end. This book is so full of twists and turns that I was never sure what was real or imagined and felt rather off-kilter until the end. I kept comparing it to The Other Typist as I was reading it except I found the characters in Precious Thing to be fairly contrived and unbelievable overall.
Pamela F. (Grants Pass, OR) (01/29/14)

Wish I had read this before Gone Girl
This book drove me crazy. I did not like the main character or the narrative style. The craziness of the "friendship" drove me crazy. I, however, kept reading for all the plot twists and turns. Gone Girl is a read alike I am pretty sure. But it is a better book. Maybe I would have liked this one better had I read it first. Although I had a hard time finishing this, I did want to know how it ended and there is something to be said for that.
Susan B. (Coventry, RI) (01/21/14)

Precious Thing
Once I began reading this book I found it difficult to put it down. The plot demanded that you continue right to the surprise ending.The story involves two women who have been friends since they were children. There's a secret about their closeness that is not revealed right away. It is part of the mystery that keeps you reading. What happens to them as adults is the bulk of the novel. It is highly dramatic, very dark and scary in some parts.I don't usually read from this genre but it was a well written book and it kept my attention right up to the very end. I frequently read two books concurrently but could not do so once I began this book. It demanded my attention so that I couldn't concentrate on anything else. I needed to finish this and find out what was happening to these women. When I got to the end I wanted to go back and read the book again so I could remain in the atmosphere that was created in the book. I'll give this book a 3 and a half rating.

More Information

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Ghachar Ghochar
    by Vivek Shanbhag
    The Bengaluru (aka Bangalore) that has dominated economic news headlines over the past decade is the...
  • Book Jacket: Caught in the Revolution
    Caught in the Revolution
    by Helen Rappaport
    So taken were BookBrowse's First Impression reviewers by the inside look at the start of the Russian...
  • Book Jacket: Hillbilly Elegy
    Hillbilly Elegy
    by J.D. Vance
    In this illuminating memoir, Vance recounts his trajectory from growing up a "hillbilly" in ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love
by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Our Short History
    by Lauren Grodstein

    Lauren Grodstein breaks your heart, then miraculously pieces it back together so it's stronger, than before.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Lola
    by Melissa Scrivner Love

    An astonishing debut crime thriller about an unforgettable woman.
    Reader Reviews

Who Said...

Good as it is to inherit a library, it is better to collect one.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Word Play

Solve this clue:

O My D B

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
Modal popup -