Read what people think about Peking to Paris by Dina Bennett, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Peking to Paris

Life and Love on a Short Drive Around Half the World

by Dina Bennett

Peking to Paris by Dina Bennett X
Peking to Paris by Dina Bennett
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2013
    276 pages
    Genre: Biography/Memoir

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 19 reader reviews for Peking to Paris
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer
Donna W. (Wauwatosa, WI) (03/11/13)

Adventurous Trip
This was an interesting look at an adventurous road trip. The author conveyed the sense of adventure inherent in driving a vintage car through faraway places. Not an everyday experience by any means! She told her story with humor and wonderful description. I felt like I was along for the ride. This book was part travelog, part exploration of human relationships, and part history lesson. A very well written book.
Power Reviewer
Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN) (03/08/13)

What a Trip!
Okay, if you have ever wondered what it would be like to be in a classic car with your husband for 30 days racing half way around the world, this is the book for you! Oh yes, it would be especially fun if you suffer from car sickness. Told from the wife's view point, it is funny, scary and highly entertaining. A fun read!
Power Reviewer
Lani S. (Narberth, PA) (03/06/13)

witty travelogue
In this amusing book, the author recounts her trip with her fearless husband in a 1940 Cadillac La Salle (alias Roxanne) for an antique automobile race from Beijing to Paris. Never having driven distances without car sickness, this intrepid traveler outlines the various stumbling blocks along the way, and exposes her emotional self with raw honesty. The novel brings to light this special universe and highlights the difficult interplays between other drivers and the environment. This witty novel is perfect for those who love a sense of adventure and exploring different habitats and customs.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

More Information

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.