Read what people think about The Good House by Ann Leary, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Good House

by Ann Leary

The Good House
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2013
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 27 reader reviews for The Good House
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Virginia P. (Tallahassee, FL) (11/28/12)

The Good House by Ann Leary
The Good House dealt with social issues such as alcoholism, infidelity, a special needs child and the slowing of the economy to name just a few. The author did a good job of portraying an alcoholic in denial as well as life in a coastal resort town inhabited by old timers trying to hold on to their family property versus newcomers with money. The author's ability to handle the issues was commendable though as the book ended I was left not knowing how some were resolved, if they were. Perhaps too many issues were presented in one book. This was a sobering story so it is hard to say that I enjoyed the book or that it was entertaining. I did not find it funny as the book jacket suggested, but sad that lives were being wasted. To use this book as a discussion in a book club could bring up unhappy memories for some members that might be unknown, so I would not recommend it as a book club choice.
Katherine Y. (Albuquerque, NM) (11/26/12)

A delightful narrator
This is a fun quick easy read and the narrator, an alcoholic real estate agent, is a pleasure to spend time with, but the plot didn't really engage me. The main character is very well conceived and convincingly executed, but the other characters in the book (her children, ex-husband, new friend and lover) all seemed flat and stereotypical, so ultimately the plot wasn't very interesting.
Dorothy M. (Maynard, MA) (11/17/12)

A Wonderfully Honest (if deluded) Narrator
In The Good House Ann Leary has created an appealing although seriously flawed character who will have you rooting for her even as you are appalled by her behavior. Set in a upscale north shore Massachusetts town with it's townies and its wealthy newcomers and Hildy Good as the realtor who knows all the secrets, this book provides a realistic and often amusing look at a changing community. Hildy's lack of self knowledge and self delusion is only outweighed by her assurance that she can really read people. I read this in a single sitting - hoping that Hildy would finally get her act together.

Readalikes

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.