Read what people think about The Great Cake Mystery by Alexander McCall Smith, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Great Cake Mystery

Precious Ramotswe's Very First Case: A Number 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Book for Young Readers

by Alexander McCall Smith

The Great Cake Mystery by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2012
    96 pages
    Genre: Noir

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Great Cake Mystery
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Power Reviewer Cloggie Downunder

charming
The Great Cake Mystery is a children’s story for readers under ten by Alexander McCall Smith. It is a prequel to his popular No 1 Ladies Detective Agency novels in that it describes Precious Ramotswe’s first case, solved when she was still at school. Whilst the mystery is a simple one, Precious doesn’t jump to conclusions, and when she thinks she has solved the case, she sets out to irrefutably prove it. This delightful story includes charming two-color woodcutlike pictures by Iain McIntosh that evoke the African setting, as well as a note from the author, a reader’s guide and even a recipe for Precious’s Sponge Cake Worth Stealing. This is a McCall Smith feel-good tale that young and not-so-young readers will appreciate.
  • Page
  • 1

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.