Read what people think about The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, and write your own review.

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Palace of Illusions

by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2008
    384 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews

Page 3 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for The Palace of Illusions
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cecilia (02/24/08)

Entertaining and Engaging
I am a fan of Divakaruni and have enjoyed her previous novels. This is a departure from her earlier writing. It is a retelling of the Mahabharat epic from the point of view of the women, primarily Princess Panchaali, born of fire and married to the five kings of India. While the characters do not have the same depth of development as those in her other novels, this is still an engrossing and engaging story. The writing is beautiful, especially the almost lyrical descriptions of the palace and gardens. I found the Indian mythology fascinating, with some parallels to Greek and Roman mythology but also very unique.The women's perspective makes the story even more engaging.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Readalikes

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.