Reader reviews and comments on Atonement, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Atonement

by Ian McEwan

Atonement
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2002, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2003, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for Atonement
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

J Arnold (09/19/07)

A well-crafted story of atonement and abandonment
This well-written book went beyond my expectations. I have tried to read McEwan’s books, but I found myself putting the books down before truly experiencing the magic of his writing. It was his novel Saturday that finally kept my interest and propelled me to explore his other works in earnest. I pick up Atonement to read it before seeing the movie; I am so glad I stayed with this novel. The shifting point of views against the landscapes of pre-WWII England in the first section of the novel read like the doomed love affair of the play “The Trails of Arabella” written by a young Briony. Although the obvious theme is the path of atonement one must travel, it is evident that the theme of abandonment links with the theme of atonement in both the fictitious play and the story that unfolds over the next 60 years. McEwan truly shows his craft has he moves into the early days of WWII in the second and third sections of the book; he also plays with our emotions as he limits the narration to just one character in each section. Although he gives the reader the appearance of a fairy-tale ending like in Briony’s play, the twist in the last section appears to be more than satisfying and realistic. I cannot wait to explore more of his novels and can only hope that they are as well crafted as Atonement and Saturday.
SNM (12/03/04)

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!I was just sad when this book ended, I felt that there was so much more stroy left to be told. I loved reading the story from the kids piont of view because most kids never understand what is going on in the world of grown up and so there mind fills in what they don't understand. I was shocked that a grown man could write the ideas and feelings of a 13 year-old girl. This book and its writer are great.
JD (03/25/03)

Stay with this novel, beyond the first 50 pages, you will not be disappointed. A memorable book that will stand the test of time.
Balzac Fan (02/26/03)

This was an impressive book. It's written so well that it reads like non-fiction. And the end is a pull the rug from out under your feet...leaving you feeling a little tricked. But it is well worth your time and you will like this one. As good as Faulks' Birdsong.
Al Topping (01/15/03)

Atonement is a worthy read…. But do take care, I suspect Ian McEwan has crafted a wonderful shaggy dog story….
Jeff Cohen (12/21/02)

I found the book lacked some of the intellectual hype surrounding it. The first section mimiced the best of stately British novels but the war sequence was hyperbolic and failed to draw me in sufficently. The third second intrigued me but the ending seemed an immature form of questioning all forms of atonement
ikigai (11/28/02)

What an incredible and well written tale! It's amazing to me that a middle aged man can portray the inner workings of an adolescent female with such exactitude. Odviously, I was smitten from the very first chapter. But there is so much more...such intricacy and nuance! There is no comparison, in my mind, between this and Amsterdam. The latter novel pales in comparison.
Laura (11/17/02)

Second in Excellence to Enduring Love -- The audiobooks create the movies I hope to see.

McEwan's manipulation of situations ensconces the reader in a delicate plethora of high art grammar. Simply, it's great!
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.