Reader reviews and comments on The Universe In A Nutshell, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Universe In A Nutshell

by Stephen Hawking

The Universe In A Nutshell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Nov 2001, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 2
There are currently 9 reader reviews for The Universe In A Nutshell
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Soundariya (12/10/11)

The Universe in a Nutshell
Very good.
Matthew Schneider (06/06/08)

Amazing
As the quote says on page 99, “I could be bounded in a nutshell and count myself a king of infinite space" Stephen with out a doubt takes the cake for being a "King" of the universe. This book really makes you think of how much utter power the universe holds and answers much of my questions about how we came to be on our tiny planet. From Einstein to M-Theory, this book is top notch. A must read for those who all wonder what's all out there and how big is this black space in which we find ourselves in.
anonymous (01/07/08)

Extremely interesting read
I was a bit skeptical at first of Stephen's work, but after reading this book, I became extremely interested in almost all of the topics brought up. This book combines physics, philosophy, and chemistry perfectly, along with a nice sense of humour to back it all up. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody interested in our universe, and how it all came to be.
KyleBryant (06/08/04)

This book gives a concise and reasonable look into the world of theoretical physics and history.

To imagine Einstein as anything less than one of the Greatest thinkers of all time is akin to insanity.

Please don't let any person who is grossly undereducated about science, especially physics, make you pass this book by on an AD HOMINEM ATTACK ON ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL PERSONS OF THE 20TH CENTURY.

This book, in layman's terms, describes the leaps and bounds of modern theoretical physics in a humorous manner.

People who still believe in the tired absolute time concept ought NOT consider this book.
-K-
jgaskell (03/29/04)

I waited months for the book to be delivered to my doorstep. And it was more than worth it!
carlosncarlos (09/14/03)

The book belongs to pseudo-science.

The reason is because time is not a physical dimension. Time is just a reference obtained by the comparison of the motion of physical means. For example, you compare the rotation of Earth with your daily duties: You said that at three o'clock you have a dental appoinment. Well, that means that when your location on Earth is -in the rotational angle with reference to the Sun- in the established angle for "3 pm"(standart), then, you say that "it is 3:00pm." But, this is just a comparison of motion betwen the rotational Earth observation and your position (motion) at certain places.

Do clocks measure the "passage of time?"....lol...since when? Where is the factual evidence to support such belief? Who did those tests?...when?...Where?...results?...Methods?...nothing!...There is not a single evidence that clocks can measure any imaginary dimension of time..all that fuss is just a mere assumption. Clocks are devices calibrated to a determinated functional work, and are not connected directly or indirectly to any imaginary dimnsion of time. Even Hawking can't define time in his book...because his definition will fall in fantasies...as fantasies are the theories of relativity.

In my opinion, Hawking worships Einstein, and Einstein was a lunatic. No wounder why this book of Hawking is full of lunatic ideas as well.

On the other hand, I will provide you the LOE (Law of Everything): The Perceptional Law. "The Perceptional Law establishes that the physical senses can perceive the physical universe in its present time only." No exceptions.

Do you see the stars at night? You see those stars in their current location and in their current and existing status. The obsolete idea that you can see the image of objects by the traveling of photons hitting your retinas is now laughable. You can see objects -only- when light reflects in their bodies. Those objects shall be existing physical means now, in order to light reflect on them and you can see their images. There is not other way. Reality rules. Anyone who swears that he can see the past of the universe -a past which doesn't exist now..such individual is hallucinating.

This book "The universe in a nutshell" has the wrong title, its title should be: "The universe according to a nuts"
John Valentine (01/17/03)

For those of you who have read, understood and enjoyed Hawkin's own books, you might like to read John Boslough's "Stephen Hawkin's Universe" (Avon)
Billy Bob Joyner (05/09/02)

I don't like them big ol words he uses. It ain't made no sense since I picked it up.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Certain Age
    A Certain Age
    by Beatriz Williams
    Lovers of high-society gossip, there's a new set of players in town. A good 20 out of 23 of our...
  • Book Jacket: The Romanovs
    The Romanovs
    by Simon Sebag Montefiore
    The Romanovs chronicles the reigns of the 20 individuals who were considered members of that dynasty...
  • Book Jacket: Barkskins
    Barkskins
    by Annie Proulx
    Barkskins, by Annie Proulx, is not a book to read quickly. After a month of slow reading, I ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Imperial Wife
    by Irina Reyn

    A smart, engaging novel that parallels two fascinating worlds and two singular women.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Miss Jane
    by Brad Watson

    "Starred Review. Sensitive, beautifully precise prose. Highly recommended." - PW

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Summer Stunner
Summer Giveaway

Win 5 books, each week in July!

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

W M T N, W C F All

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

BookBrowse Summer Giveaway

We're giving away
5 books every
week in July!