Reader reviews and comments on Forty Words For Sorrow, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Forty Words For Sorrow

by Giles Blunt

Forty Words For Sorrow by Giles Blunt
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2001, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2002, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Forty Words For Sorrow
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

lu-anna

i thought this was an awsome book! amazing from start to finish. the fact that youre not only in one person's view, but others aswell, makes it unique, and a great read. if i could, i would give it a 6/5
Mary

We read Forty Words for Sorrow in a mystery readering group. Lately, our choices have been so-so at best, but this book was completely engrossing. The writing is vivid and free of the usual clutter and bumbling that distract the mind from a story. The characters behave as real people would with similar lives, faced with these crimes. The frigid weather is such a constant that it seems like a character too. It isn't a pretty story. You will wonder how you can enjoy a story so much which depicts depraved human suffering. I'm ecstatic that this book is the beginning of a series!
Karim

I picked 40 Words for Sorrow up from an Amtrak station bookstore to have something to read on the train. And I will tell you this, I now enjoy my hour and a half coming and going to work. This book is lively, with believable characters and an extremely mind grasping plot. This is the first book I've read penned by Giles Blunt and it definately will not be the last. Five stars for Mr. Blunt!!!
Kittie

I was reading an other great book Daddy's Little Girl and I was almost done with it so I need an other book to read because Daddy's Little Girl is for school. I took my mom's book which happend to be Forty Words for Sorrow Which I haven't been able to put down since. Well, actually there have been a few times because I just felt so cold with how the describion was. I mean this book is awesome I give it like a rating of 100 out of 100!
Carol Porter

I had a hard time putting this book down. At times I fellt as if I were there, taking part as a member of the community, trying to help solve Cardinal's case. I truly can't wait for his next book. Well done!!!
Anonymous

I picked up this book purely on impulse; so often the most satisfying reads. Giles Blunt, with only his second novel, has picked up the Crime Writers' Association Silver Dagger Award for this effort and it is well deserved.

Set in the Northern Canadian town of Algonquin Bay in winter, the central character is Detective John Cardinal. Whilst battling against his own family problems he is called in to investigate the horrific murder of a 13 year old girl, Katie Pine. Cardinal quickly concludes that she is one of four teenagers who have disappeared in mysterious circumstances and that a serial killer is on the loose. It becomes a race against time for Cardinal and his colleague, Lise Delorme, before the next victim dies.

This is a taut, fast paced and, at times, brutal crime thriller that will grip the reader. Drawing on the icey atmosphere of a Canadian winter it is a book that is hard to put down for a moment. Plenty of excellent characters, twists and turns and thrills to the last page. An excellent read.
peiper

Since I have no knowledge of like crimes done in England and Canada the book wasn't spoiled for me.
It was a chilling read altho as someone pointed out already, somewhat repetitive in places.
While I agree with others who liked the book overall and found it hard to put down, I also had to wonder why a cop would feel any remorse for killing a complete non-human as Lise does toward the end of the book.
This was not a "predictable" story for me. The mystery was in the chase as well as the question of being able to save the last victim in time.
Aideen

I was very dissappointed in this story. It was predictable and not at all what was promised by the reviews on the cover. The writing style and characters were repetitive rather than developing. The story seemed to be based on a mixture of two real life crimes, one in England and one in Canada, which didn't leave me with any creative enjoyment for originality on the authors part. All in all there was nothing left to mystery for the reader, since the author tells us everything ahead of it actually unfolding for us.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.