Reader reviews and comments on The Hearing, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Hearing

by John Lescroart

The Hearing by John Lescroart X
The Hearing by John Lescroart
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 560 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Hearing
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Mark VW

This book works better from a dialogue and character analysis than by its plot, which is, really, pretty far out there (I can't tell you what happens, but even by cynical big-city standards, it's a little over the top). But forget all that. Lescroart builds his protagonists Abe Glitsky and Dismas Hardy up well and before too long in the book, you get a feel as to what kind of guys they are. The same is true with the bad guys, Dash Logan and Gabe Torrey. On the other hand, is the DA Sharron Pratt just a loser, or a victim of her own good intentions? Lescroart doesn't give that away until he has to. The love interest in the story, Treya Ghent, is developed carefully and sympathetically and you find yourself wishing her only the best. The author seems to know and love the city of San Francisco and the legal/penal systems so he puts you there in the arena. The narrative is direct and strong, the dialogue crisp and West Coast cool. You get a feeling right away that something is not quite right with the whole investigation of Cole Burgess and probably assume early on somebody else killed Loretta Wager, but you can't quite assume that outcome until you get to the climax, because Burgess isn't that sympathetic a character. So Lescroart does a good job with his cast, overcoming the fairly thin plot. Recommended.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.