Reader reviews and comments on The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio

How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less

by Terry Ryan

The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio by Terry Ryan X
The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio by Terry Ryan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2001, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Cordelia

I enjoyed the realness of the book. It was told very well, always engaging, and the reader (I listened to it on audio tape) was fabulous! Evelyn is a hero: to her children, her husband, her friends, and fellow Contesters. She is a hero because she did what she could with what she had and kept on going...setting that example for all who engage with her, including me as I listened to the story. She dealt with things as they came instead of being dealt with by them (controlled by them) and it showed when her kids reminded her of this in the house crisis toward the end of the story....she'd taught them well! Through it all she retained her sense of humor, kind heart, and willing spirit...I like and admire her. She stayed the course far beyond most people today and she gave her daughter sage advice that I have adopted since finishing the book yesterday. Thank you for writing this, Terry Ryan, being seventh of seven myself, I related to much and cried at the end for the wonderfulness she left with all of you. She is a treasure that keeps on giving! Call me Cordelia. p.s. it reminded me much of another delightful book to which I recently listened, "Kitchen Privileges: A Memoir" by Mary Higgins Clark. Both are well-written, delightful, real, and inspiring!
Mike Fawcett

The book brought back an era I lived through, and a place that was not too far from where I lived at the time. We never entered contests; my parents were convinced that no one ever actually won them, and they would have been astonished that people like Evelyn Ryan and her friends in the "Affadaisies" club actually existed. The idea that Mrs. Ryan was winning things she needed for her large family would have been beyond our comprehension!

Many of the stories in the book ring very true. People in those days really did keep cars a long time, and repaired them any way they could. Catholic priests really did give wives of alcoholic husbands the kind of "just suck-it-up" advice Mrs. Ryan received, because it happened to my aunt. Even the baseball part sounds very much of the era, because it was before the time of the free agent draft, when a team like the Detroit Tigers could sign anyone they wanted as long as another team hadn't gotten to him first!

The copy I read already had the binding split, so it had been much read!
Virginia Selanik

Terry Ryan's book rather reminded me of one of my favorites...."Cheaper by the Dozen". It was just
as compelling, and just as much frun to read. The only differences between the two books were the childre
children and their ciircumstances....the Gilbreth family (Cheaper by the Dozen) was fairly well-to--do, where
whereas the Ryan family was quite poor. Somehow or other, when children are poor, they don't seem to realize
mind their poverty....and they become stronger people in the long run. This story is most inspirational, amd
and as the previous reviewer noted.....I too read this entire book the same day I bought it!
jack raywood

I did not read this book. My wife did. I have never seen anyone read a book as quickly as she did this one. She appeared to really enjoy it. Could not put it down. She shared many parts of it w me. The parts she shared were really well written and entertaining. Quite an inspirational story. Makes me want to stop whining about how hard I have it. Gives one hope about the abilities of individuals to make a difference under the harshest of circumstances.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.