Reader reviews and comments on Icy Sparks, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Icy Sparks

by Gwyn Hyman Rubio

Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio X
Icy Sparks by Gwyn Hyman Rubio
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2001, 308 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2001, 308 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for Icy Sparks
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Phil

Excellent - moving, endearing and will resonate after reading.
Liz

Icy Sparks is one of the best books I've ever read. I REALLY enjoyed it. I couldn't put it down. I had to read it for a class and I'm glad I did!
becca

Icy Sparks is a an excellent choice if one wants to feel and get carried away by various powerful emotions. The writing style enables one to experience the "real" and "imagined" situations the characters are undergoing. The heroine, Icy Sparks, is an inspiring character. She exhibits strength, intelligence, curiosity and hope in the midst of several heartaches and rejections. And yet, Icy Sparks is far from perfection. She can be spiteful, cynical and hard-headed. In other words, her character is very human, very real. Aside from that, the book encourages readers to read more about Tourette's syndrome, which in itself is a good and noble purpose. The book is a lesson on sensitivity, open-mindedness and acceptance.
HollyK

A fabulous book for teacher education. Teaches sensitivity and tolerance. A+++
Felicia

I love this book!! this book taught me things that I didnt quite understand before. Gywn Hyman Rubio is a FANTASTIC writer and I hope that she keeps catching my breath as well as other readers like myself.
S.M.M

Icy Sparks is not a book I probably would have picked up and read if it hadn't been assigned by a book club I belong to. Overall it was an enjoyable read. I felt the author did a good job of conveying the thoughts and emotions of a young girl who is "different." I notice someone else reviewing on this page liked the beginning and end, but not the middle - I found that intriging, because I enjoyed the beginning and middle but disliked the ending!!! Several members of our book club wondered if the ending had been written by a different author - Icy's character and habits seem to change so abruptly!! I thought the ending was flat.
pebbles_c

I read this book after seeing an episode about Tourette's syndrome on Oprah. I've always been interested in the abnormal and I loved the quirkiness of Icy's character. This is a terrific book for anyone to read--especially those who want to understand the abnormalities of our society.
Kate

I enjoyed this book and was suprised by the characters which are still with me. The book jacket, for me, was correct. I enjoyed getting to know Icy and found the book enjoyable.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.