Reader reviews and comments on The Glass Palace, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Glass Palace

by Amitav Ghosh

The Glass Palace by Amitav Ghosh
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2002, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Glass Palace
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

alphonsa philip

amitav ghosh the glass palace- a brilliant novel
A very moving and enlightening novel. Ghosh has done extensive exploration not of one but many countries. its not only brilliant in its style but also in keeping the reader in a fix of whats next? it not only unfolds life of different people from different continents but also urges the reader to introspect and relate itself to the novel. All in all a great novel not apt for one reading but many.
Kim Balmanno

Amitav Ghosh's novel The Glass Palace is an epic journey through three generations, set in Burma, India and Malay. The characters encapsulate the pain of colonialisation and come to terms with the violence and destructive energy of empire on their own personal existence. It is a story of struggle and triumph, love and deceit. Ghosh's novel is thought provoking. His use of imagery and expose is admirable. The characters are ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. I found it to be an enjoyable read and I would recommend it to those interested in history; both factual and lived.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.