Reader reviews and comments on Cloud Sketcher, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Cloud Sketcher

by Richard Rayner

Cloud Sketcher by Richard Rayner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2001, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2002, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Cloud Sketcher
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Linda B

I have to admit I took a couple of months of on and off reading to get into this story but stuck with it and I am glad that I did. It was a wonderful story that took a small, frightened, bullied child and showed his dogged determination to achieve his dream against strong contriction.

I am so glad I got the chance to read this novel before (if they do) make it into a film, but Brad Pitt as Esko??? I don't think so. The wonderfully talented actor - Kevin Spacey would do the job justice I think. Robert Carlyle as Paul Mantilini, and Gywneth Paltrow as Katerina with Lazarus played by Brian Blessed.

Here's hoping!

I'm off to buy another of Richard Rayner's books - just magic.
Tomek

This Book is really perfect. :P

Regards

Tomek
ckootstra@yahoo.com

Two different books in one.

Don't let the rest of my review mislead you: this is a good book, that is well worth reading !!
It starts as a strange poetic description of rural Finland, written in a style that reminded me of fairy tales. It develops into a unique account of the Finnish Civil War and the shocking aftermath in which many Finns were killed by their countrymen.
Then Esko (our "hero") moves to the States to pursue his dream of building a skyscraper and find the woman he loves. With the scene, the writing changes too. It develops into an "ordinary" love story where the characters are leading strange lives, mostly because there is no character analysis and we are just to guess (or use our own imagination) as to what moves them.
The pace remains hectic, but logic comes thin and far between.
But of course, we all want to know what happens to the lead characters (will they get each other ?) and thus we soldier on to the last page.

  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.