Reader reviews and comments on Protect and Defend, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Protect and Defend

by Richard North Patterson

Protect and Defend by Richard North Patterson X
Protect and Defend by Richard North Patterson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2000, 544 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2001, 608 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for Protect and Defend
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ken Irving

The abortion arguments put forward in the courts made compelling reading and put the reader in the inenviable position of being able to sit in the judge's chair as it were. My own reasoning flowed to and fro with the testimomy and I found myself having to put the book down so that I could mull over the text to form a personal opinions only to find myself wavering again having read the cross-examination and closing statements. Who would want to judge such a case?

The other two main facets of the book, (President v Majority Leader - Senate v Nominee) were equally enthralling giving the reader an insight into the tactics of gaining votes from the opposition party and the potential abusive use of party funding

Having been given the book by a colleage, and being told only that it was a courtroom drama, (and having just finished the Da Vinci Code), I found this to be a wonderfully exciting read
Chip Browning

I believe it takes a lot of courage to choose the most divisive issue in America--abortion--as the central theme for a work of fiction, but despite his obviously pro-choice views, Richard North Patterson's writing gives surprising and compelling voice to all sides. The subplots build inexorably toward the inevitable revelations, but even when he's being predictable, Patterson keeps the pacing brisk and the journey itself riveting. Protect and Defend is astonishingly good fiction that poses difficult and often uncomfortable questions about real life dilemmas. How the characters that populate the book handle their private demons and public conflicts are what make the book such a compelling read.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.