Reader reviews and comments on Nora, Nora, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Nora, Nora

by Anne River Siddons

Nora, Nora
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2000, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2001, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Nora, Nora
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dreamer (04/18/09)

Nora Nora can't be all fiction
A great book, from the heart, and at the heart of experience. Better told memories of growing up in the complexities of the South, how a young girl stumbles into womanhood, and loving. Bravo!
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Niki Taylor
Nora, Nora by Anne Rivers Siddons is the latest in a long line of dramatic southern novels with interesting female characters by Siddons. This one involves a twelve-year-old girl named Peyton McKenzie who is frail and sensitive to the ways of the world. She blames herself for her mother's death since her mother died in childbirth. She belongs to the Losers' Club, a club where the members tell the dumbest things they did. Other members include a crippled black boy and an overweight caretaker who lives with his mother. Peyton and her distant widowed father are changed when Nora Findlay, a cousin of Peyton's mother, comes into town in a pink convertible. She stays with them and shakes up their small Georgia town of 1961 with her radical ideas and dressing style(not wearing a bra). Nora's past stay in Cuba and Peyton's paternal Scottish grandmother's superstitions all intertwine in the plot which is defined by Peyton's change.
Siddons' descriptions are masterful, almost on par with Janet Fitch's White Oleander. She describes the southern scenery and Peyton's inner turmoil with precision. Nora is a grand character and fully believable. My only problems are with a couple of plot twists involving Peyton's mother and the end of the book. They just didn't seem right. Other than that, Siddons has enough vivid descriptions and characters to entertain and enthrall the reader.
For more of my book reviews, go to my website http://www.mrkhgoddess.homestead.com/untitled2.html
Anonymous (08/09/01)

Judith King
When I started reading this, I kept thinking it was an awful lot like To Kill A Mockingbird, and I think that was deliberate on Siddons' part. We have Peyton, whose mother died after her birth, Dad, Aunt Augusta, the members of The Losers Club: Peyton, Ernie who is 34 and lives with mom, and Boot, a little boy with a birth defect which causes him to wear a shoe with a buildup of six inches, and Clothilde/Chloe, Boot's grandmother and cook for Peyton and her Dad. Peyton is a tall, scrawny prepubescent, and truly considers herself a loser. Of these, Aunt Augusta is the best drawn character early, and a true witch she is, too. The time is 1961, in a small town south of Atlanta. Enter Nora: Peyton's cousin (2nd or 3rd) on her deceased mother's side. Nora is young, hip, outlandish in attire and language (wait till she describes the color of..) driving a pick Thunderbird. She has... a past. Oh oh. Have to say this is not one of Siddons' best, but it is a good story and a quick read.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.