Reader reviews and comments on Ravelstein, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ravelstein

by Saul Bellow

Ravelstein by Saul Bellow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2000, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for Ravelstein
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Jake

Misogyny for the win.
An interesting proposal for a book, to make yourself vulnerable to someone who you perceive to be your intellectual equal or superior, but it turns out to be a thin veil thrown over one writer's Id/Ego conversation about having feelings of longing for women but dismissing their opinions and feelings. (Ravelstein bursts into Chick's bedroom where Vela is in a slip and when she later calls Ravelstein on his self absorbed rudeness, Chick tells her she's worn less at the beach, then has a conversation with Ravelstein who is equally dismissive of her reaction.) Women's attractiveness is tied to negative characteristics, but Ravelstein losing his hair and growing old looking makes his "melon head look noble". This writer has no idea who women are or how to treat them.
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.