Reader reviews and comments on The Tipping Point, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Tipping Point

How Little Things Can Make A Big Difference

by Malcolm Gladwell

The Tipping Point
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 279 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 4 reader reviews for The Tipping Point
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Dan C (02/21/11)

Good Book
The book sets out to explain how certain events, both large and small, happen not necessarily by chance but by series of easily explainable smaller events that lead to a "Tipping Point." The tipping point can be defined as the moment in time where these events converge to form an apex thereby leading to massive shift and causing the issue, or cause, to spread like wildfire.
One of the strengths of the book is that Gladwell does not simply theorize on these events. Instead, he uses actual events, backed up by numerous case studies, interviews with professionals, and loads of data to present a compelling argument with which the reader has a hard time disagreeing with. Whether it is the case of Paul Revere spreading the word that the English were coming, the dramatic drop in crime in New York City in the 1990's, or something as trivial as children's programming stalwarts Sesame Street and Blues Clues, Gladwell finds a way to explain it with his theories.
Broken down into sections titled The Law of the Few, The Stickiness Factor, and The Power of Context, Gladwell easily glides you through the book introducing you to characters along the way labeled as Connectors, Mavens, and Salesman. We all know these types of people. He introduces you to theories that apply to everyday life such as the Broken Windows Theory and The Rule of 150. At their root these be applied to the successful navigation of every day life.
If Gladwell's purpose was to theoretically explain that the little things in life matter, he succeeded. If I gained anything at all from reading this book, its that we all play a purpose in this world, and no matter what we do, no matter how big or small, you just can never tell if it will be a step in the direction of a Tipping Point.
Ricky (07/01/10)

Great book!
The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell explains how different epidemics happen such as sicknesses, fashion trends, crime, rumors, and smoking. Gladwell also explains all the different things that go into making an epidemic happen such as word of mouth, context, and stickiness. Gladwell says, “In a world dominated by isolation and immunity, understanding these principles of word of mouth is more important than ever.”

Pros of The Tipping Point are that it is very well thought out and Gladwell explains epidemics in a very concise and entertaining way. He has compelling evidence to back up every one of his arguments. It is hard not to believe what he is saying. He also makes it easy to see how you can apply the concepts of epidemics into your personal and professional life.

The only con that I can think of for The Tipping Point is that it doesn’t address the role of the internet in epidemics. There is a page or two about it in the afterword but it’s not extremely helpful or insightful.

I think The Tipping Point is a must read for anyone who wants to make a lasting change in the world! It is great for any kind of leader, including parents. I would recommend it to anyone. It’s well worth your time.
Joshua Lim (04/18/06)

The tipping Point
An informative read, full of exciting examples.
Mark_Bledsoe (03/04/04)

Excellent Read
Takes you through the process where by trends reach the critical factor
  • Page
  • 1
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.