Reader reviews and comments on The Almost Sisters, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Almost Sisters

by Joshilyn Jackson

The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson X
The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2017, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2018, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for The Almost Sisters
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Esther L. (Newtown, PA)

Almost Sisters is a Winner
With thanks to BookBrowse for the chance to read and review Almost Sisters. I was happy to discover its engaging characters and its deeper conversation about racial prejudice and issues of privilege. Our country has made enormous strides but the racial divide still simmers. Adding the religious prejudices and the roiling immigration issues,a lot of discussion still needs to be faced.
You will root for Leia and the future of her unborn child. Book clubs will find a lot to discuss and enjoy.
Atlanta Vic

Wanted more
I love this author and I really, really wanted to love this book...but I didn't. I loved the southern background, with discussions on southern food, manners and traditions, but I could not for the life of me connect with these characters. I did enjoy the Batman scenario (funny and inventive) - but this book moved along slowly for me. I will continue to read and love this author, though....I'm a big fan!
Nancy K. (Perrysburg, OH)

An Easy Read
I am having a hard time reviewing this book because in my mind it is really 3 books in one. The first part is a rather humorous light hearted "beach read" kind of book. The last half deals with some very serious problems of aging, racism and unmarried mothers. Through out the book a third kind of story weaves in and out, that of Violet and Violence, who are imaginary " graphic characters". I really like the last half of the book, which would make a beautiful short story. The author has talent there is no doubt about that.
Dorothy H. (Folsom, CA)

Summer Book Club Read
Story of sisters in the deep South with a secret in the attic of the family home. many twists and turns. A blend of mystery, romance and history

Beyond the Book:
  Female Comic Book Writers

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.