Reader reviews and comments on The Wonder, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Wonder

by Emma Donoghue

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue X
The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2016, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There is 1 reader review for The Wonder
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Nancy G

The Wonder
I purchased this book on the strength of the author's first which,in retrospect,was not a good decision.Each book stands on its own and I found this one very disappointing.The Characters seemed one dimensional...more like caricatures and at times I had to remind myself that I was NOT reading a Gothic romance but a serious attempt to describe a different species of confinement both of the body and the spirit.....unfortunately this narrative missed the mark for me ......I think this author is very adept at setting the stage and selecting a story line that should be fascinating....but isn't.....and although her research is impressive particularly as it concerns the body's reaction to slow starvation Anna never really comes alive for me....seeming more like a medical specimen than a little girl....in fact,I wish Anna herself had narrated the story ....THAT might have given me the emotional depth I was looking for and a point of view that was sadly missing....my own personal rating was a 5 out of 10
  • Page
  • 1

Beyond the Book:
  The Fasting Girls

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.