Reader reviews and comments on The Ghosts of Cape Sabine, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Ghosts of Cape Sabine

The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition

by Leonard Guttridge

The Ghosts of Cape Sabine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Feb 2000, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2000, 374 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 2 reader reviews for The Ghosts of Cape Sabine
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (09/12/01)

Karen Lachenmeyer Keeley
This was the first and only book I had read on the Greeley Expedition and
was thoroughly captivated until the very end. One of my ancestors, Henry
Biederbick was a survivor of the expedition. As a child I was told that
one of my ancestors went to the North Pole, but I never imagined the
torture he went through until I read the book. Thank you Mr. Guttridge
for sharing his story with me.

Anonymous (08/12/01)

Thetis
I have read many books on the subject of The Greely Expedition, but this book is paramount in its detail and accuracy. My great uncle was a volunteer on the Thetis, the ship that rescued the Greely party. My name is Thetis, named for this ship. I knew most of the story, but not in such detail. The book is so well written that, with each word, the reader feels they are actually there.
This book is a must read, it kept me enthralled until the very end.
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.